Most Popular

Latest Reviews

Operation Proposal
 
10.0
Fated To Love You
 
8.0
ToGetHer
 
8.8
Personal Taste
 
8.0
Lunch Queen
 
6.0
Answer Me 1997
 
9.0
Love Recipe
 
8.5
Liar Game
 
9.0
Scent of a Woman
 
7.8
Taisetsu na Koto wa Subete Kimi ga Oshiete Kureta
 
8.3

Latest News

Latest Forum Post

Forum offline
Dramas Taiwanese Dramas 2008 Fated To Love You
 

Fated To Love You Fated To Love You Hot

Fated To Love You
Network
Episodes
24
Also Knows As
Sticky Note Girl
Directed by
Chen Ming Zhang
Written by
Zhou Ping Zhi, Wang Guo Guang, Chen Xin Yi, Zou Wei Gang, Du Xin Yi, Wu Zhi Xin
Producer
Zhu Li Li, Chen Yu San, Chen Yi Jun
Cast
Chen Qiao En, Ethan Ruan, Baron Chen, Bianca Bai
Release Date
March 16, 2008

A really unfashionable working class girl Chen Xin Yi has the desire to tie down her handsome boyfriend to be with her. Due to certain reasons, her boyfriend gets her to go on a love cruise and she started to ponder on how to lose her virginity and tie down her boyfriend. Xin Yi ended up taking cold medicine which made her drowsy and went into Ji Cun Xi's room. Cun Xi is the sole male heir to his family's company and has been in love with his girlfriend, Anna, for a long time. He planned to propose to Anna on the boat but she didn't turn up on the cruise. An island owner added drugs into Cun Xi's drink and Cun Xi became disorientated and returned to his own room. Xin Yi and Cun Xi end up having a one night stand. Xin Yi later finds out that she's pregnant and Cun Xi's grandmother forces them to get married. Will a couple forced to marry for the sake of their unborn child find love with each other?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Story 
 
9.5  (6)
Acting 
 
9.2  (6)
Music 
 
9.2  (6)
Satisfaction 
 
9.8  (6)
 
Fated To Love You 2013-10-29 01:16:33 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    October 29, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Wait have I seen this drama before?

So this drama, like many i've watched, i started, stopped for a long period, then finally just decided i'd finish. Ad because of that, you get to put up with yet ANOTHER review by me :3. And so here's my thoughts on it.

First off, one thing this drama is amazing for is having very serious themes and concepts in the plot, but yet still lightening it up a bit. Like the *ahem* love scene in episode 1, they're clearly going at it, but what do you see? a video of a train going in and out of a tunnel, and then fireworks and planes in a bunched up formation and then spreading out. Serious love moment, and yet that brought a chuckle out of me. That's one thing that impressed me about the drama is, it has very serious moments, but also light humor to keep it from being heavy and overbearing.

The story is fairly nice, the story of a man who through a series of coincidental events, shacks up and impregnates someone while on a cruise mistaking her for his girlfriend, and she likewise thinking she's sleeping with her boyfriend. And so with that, the necessary meeting has been made for them to enter each other's lives. It's the classic story of 2 completely different people meeting, one an arrogant self-entitled rich boy, the other a meek girl afraid of not being liked and thus accepts every request made of her. As such it's the perfect storm plot, where they spend time together, and gradually begin to see the better side of the other, and each changing the other for the better. One learns to stand up for herself and becomes even more empowered, the other softening and becoming more accepting. And of course, like any other romance, they fall HEAD OVER HEELS IN LOVE CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT THE OTHER PERSON. Only, it's the classic "she doesn't want to ruin his life so she keeps her love hidden, he doesn't know waht he really wants so he doesn't realize it himself" situation. And then that's when all the fun really begins.

In the end, i'm quite glad i picked this drama back up and finished it. I enjoyed it, it was fun to go through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Fated To Love You 2009-10-04 01:28:39 spritetime
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
spritetime Reviewed by spritetime    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

A Cinderella Story

As with most Taiwanese "idol dramas," this story has the core component of two people who start out as improbably lovers, but ultimately end up as star-crossed lovers. However, while the core is formulaic, the supporting story for Fated To Love You feels better structured than most.

The story surrounds two main characters, the male lead being a rich aristocrat in a troubled relationship, and the female lead being a country girl with self-esteem issues. The two meet by chance (or by fate?), and after a night of mistaken identities and action under the bedsheets (humorously portrayed by a series of metaphoric imagery), the girl becomes pregnant. What follows is the story of how two people who started as unwilling participants in a forced relationship discover within each other that which binds their hearts together forever.

As Taiwanese idol dramas go, Fated To Love You offers a more realistic backdrop. Of course, the typical plot devices of "super-coincidences" and "near-meetings" are still used sporadically thoughout the series, but they are done in such a way that do not completely challenge the viewers' "suspension of disbelief" as much as in other dramas (until the very end, where it seemed like the writers just couldn't resist that awkard happy ending moment). As the actress playing the female lead described, this story is really about a very tragic real-world situation that was spun into a fairy-tale love story, supported by moments of comedy. As such, there were elements in the story that can truly touch the viewers as they find those moments to identify with.

The casting was also somewhat formulaic, as the studio generally choses from a pool of performers they are contracted with. The leads (Chen Qiao En, Ethan Ruan, Baron Chen, Bianca Bai) carried most of the story, with the weight of the emotional moments mostly falling on Chen Qiao En. Her ability to elicit sympathy for Chen Xin Yi is very believable, and her trademark puppy-dog eyes make you feel sorry for Chen Xin Yi almost against your will. Ethan Ruan, who shares an uncanny similarity in looks and demeanor with the studio's other hot shot Ming Dao, is relatively new to the idol drama genre, and his inexperience shows through in some awkard moments. However, his deficiencies are ultimately forgiven by his chemistry with Chen Qiao En and the strength of the underlying love story. Baron Chen's role is somewhat limited in this series, as his character is the stereotypical "guardian angel" + "good guy" + "love interest" that always shows up in idol dramas. His performance feels one-sided, and lacks a certain depth. Bianca Bai fulfilled her role mostly by her looks as she plays the beautiful ballerina girlfriend of our male protagonist Zi Cun Xi, but her performance remains unconvincing at several critical moments, and fails to fully flesh out the multi-faceted dimensions of Anna's conflicted emotions.

Ultimately, Fated to Love You touched many hearts, and the historic ratings it generated in Taiwan are proof of this story's quality. While it does suffer from some of the stereotypical plot devices that plagues idol dramas, it does shine through with its story and characters, and succeeds in making you walk in the character's shoes. It almost allows you to forgive the silly ending.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Fated To Love You 2009-10-04 01:04:23 zackysmom
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
zackysmom Reviewed by zackysmom    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Fated to Love You

I was always a fan of Japanese dramas for about 6 years now then started exploring into Korean dramas about 3 years ago. I just started watching Taiwanese dramas recently. This is the 4th Taiwanese drama I've seen .I watched this drama online. I didnt expect much but I had to watch it since its the number one watched streaming drama online! Wow! I loved this drama. It has comedy, drama, tragedy, romance! Other than Chen Qiao En, the other lead stars in this drama werent really known to be lead top stars. Baron Chen and Bianca Bai are very new. But it all works out. Because of this drama, I must say, they have been so recognized already.

It's also so cute that even behind some of the scenes (like the tango scene), Ming Dao would come to watch the filming and try out acting as the lead!

I heard that the ratings of this drama went off the charts in Taiwan and it made the stars Qiao En and Ethan Ruan tear with happiness. Wow. Really, this drama is awesome with a great mix of stars, great mix of comedy, romance, etc. I only rated the story as 9 though because (this NOT being a SPOILER) the ending was SO corny! But other than that, 2 thumbs up! I loved it so much, I started watching the newer drama Invincible Shan Bao Mei (in which some of the characters of Fated to Love You come out in).

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Fated To Love You 2009-10-03 23:20:18 Gureisu1
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
Gureisu1 Reviewed by Gureisu1    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Fated to Love You

Story: this drama was about a "Sticky note girl" who accedently slept with a man she never met.
The drama was VERY unrealistic and WAY funny! I adored it!
It was packed full of comedy, tragidy, romance, and drama. The story was fresh and exciting, and in my opinion quite quick paced.

Acting: Chen Qiao En (aka Sticky Note Girl) was GREAT! Ethan Ruan was fantastic too! And Baron Chen and Bianca Bai were also great! (Bianca Bai did a great job, first you feel sorry for her then you hate her)

Music: I loved it, but my brother (who could hear it in the music) hated it... I guess you have to be watching the drama to appreciate it

Overall: GREAT! must watch! (especially if you like Taiwanese Dramas)

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Fated To Love You 2009-10-03 23:13:30 auxabois
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
auxabois Reviewed by auxabois    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Amazing!

I loved this show so much. It was really sad most of the time, and also rather funny at parts, they did a great job with the acting, and although the plot sounds lame, it was set up really well.

I loved all of the characters, and I liked that no one was perfect, that they all had problems and even in the end it didn't just magically fix it self, it was realistic (except for the VERY end where it was a sort of silly happy ending).

The only acting that I thought was mediocre was the main guy, though the intelligence level of his character sort of made it make sense.

I was very satisfied with the show, it did a great job in every respect in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Fated To Love You 2009-10-03 21:47:38 lmherxon24
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
lmherxon24 Reviewed by lmherxon24    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

My review for Fated To Love You

Story: The story of "Fated To Love You" was very realistic. It was fun and at the same time, it was also very dramatic.

Acting: Joe Chen and Ethan Ruan's tandem was great. Their performance is undeniably natural.

Music: The theme songs "99 Times I Love Him" and "Sticky Note With Wishes" were catchy and full of fun.

Satisfaction: The greatest drama from Taiwan. I was glad that it was shown here via GMA Network. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
 

Search

Category:    Network:    
Release Date:    Episodes:    
Genres: Keywords:   

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

Cinderella's Sister
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Attention Please
User rating
 
8.4 (2)
Over The Rainbow
User rating
 
7.5 (2)
Pride
User rating
 
9.0 (2)
Seito Shokun!
User rating
 
9.3 (1)