Most Popular

Latest Reviews

Operation Proposal
 
10.0
Fated To Love You
 
8.0
ToGetHer
 
8.8
Personal Taste
 
8.0
Lunch Queen
 
6.0
Answer Me 1997
 
9.0
Love Recipe
 
8.5
Liar Game
 
9.0
Scent of a Woman
 
7.8
Taisetsu na Koto wa Subete Kimi ga Oshiete Kureta
 
8.3

Latest News

Latest Forum Post

Forum offline
Dramas Taiwanese Dramas 2005 It Started With A Kiss
 

It Started With A Kiss It Started With A Kiss Hot

It Started With A Kiss
Network
Episodes
20
Directed by
Qu You Ning
Written by
Tada Kaoru, Qi Yang Lin
Producer
Chen Zhi Han, Jerry Feng, Qi Yang Lin, Wang Xin Gui
Cast
Ariel Lin, Joe Cheng
Release Date
September 25, 2005

After an earthquake destroyed Xiang Qin's house, she and her father moved in with the family of her father's college buddy, Uncle Ah Li. To her surprise, the kind and amicable aunt and uncle are the parents of her cold and distant schoolmate Jiang Zhi Shu, a genius with an IQ of 200 whom not too long ago rejected her endless crush on him. Will the close proximity give her a second chance to win Zhi Shu's heart? Or, will her love for him end under his cold words? What happens when there is competition for his heart?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Story 
 
8.5  (6)
Acting 
 
9.2  (6)
Music 
 
9.2  (6)
Satisfaction 
 
9.2  (6)
 
It Started With A Kiss 2011-02-06 01:09:43 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    February 06, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

It actually started with an earthquake

Ok 2 things.

1. i can't believe i actually didn't write a review for it here, i swore i did
2. Joe Cheng's laugh here is creepy O___O

and now with that being said on to the review.

I'll be honest and say, i haven't watched many taiwanese dramas, in fact about the only ones i have actually watched are: Devil Beside You, ISWAK, Fated to Love you, ISWAK 2, Meteor Garden, ToGetHer, and of those, i've actually only completely finished 2 of them xD. My reason is just that i haven't really paid attention to Taiwanese ones and am tending to look towards the other countries. Not to say that i find them inferior, it's just a fact, although i will try to watch more of them :P. But on topic now.

ISWAK, short of It Started With A Kiss, is one of THE dramas you think of when you think taiwanese dramas. The story is a classic one that romance lovers will just devour. A innocent girl, and a cocky prodigy that can do just about anything, the girl that every girl would die to go out with. An unfortunate event and a interesting past friendship brings a girl who was already rejected by him into his household. It's a pure coincidence that is absolutely necessary to create the link, and is one of my minor complaints if anything, just the fact that the whole story revolves around a lucky coincidence, minor complaint and not really anything big. You've got love triangles, meddling outsiders, love, rejection, the good stuff that makes a drama....well, dramatic. It's cute in that although she's the most unlikely candidate to date what the drama seems to portray as the perfect guy, it's her very innocence and persistence, and never say die attitude that leads to the ultimate climax, the adorable kiss in the rain. Like seriously, what's more romantic than a guy running out into the rain saying "IT HAS TO BE YOU! NO ONE ELSE". And then smooching the girl in the rain. The makers certainly knew what would get the audience interested.

The music is pretty good, i'm not a huge fan of chinese music, but i really liked the insert songs. Ariel Lin is an adorable girl, the casting was good and the characters do a good job on their parts.

It's cliche, but that's what romance lovers like, it's sweet, it will make you feel warm and fuzzy inside, and so if you are into this sort of thing (which you likely are if you're reading this), give this one a look.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
It Started With A Kiss 2010-07-06 21:30:39 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    July 06, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

TWDrama Classic!

An instant classic that defines how dramas should be. Years ago while browsing Youtube I accidentally viewed the first few minutes of this drama without subtitles. I was so upset that I could not continue watching; and when I finally managed to track down subtitles I was quick enchanted by the story which features well done conventions, charming acting, and satisfaction for the viewer despite a few draggy portions of the series. You cannot miss It Started With a Kiss... at all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
It Started With A Kiss 2009-10-03 23:53:48 Kit
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
Kit Reviewed by Kit    October 03, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

My favorite drama

I have just finished watching this drama and i wanna watch the sequel! During the 2 weeks that i spent to watch this drama, i only thought of Zhi Shu and Xiang Qin!! At work, i wanted to go back home to watch this drama! lol!

About the story : the story is based on a manga. Just like a manga, each characters are a bit crazy and a bit too exagerated but it's ok because it's sooo funny! A lot of different events happen and each character grow up from a college student to a uni student. I have never been bored and laught sooo much!

About the acting : Ariel Lin is really really a great actress!! In this drama, she plays a stupid and silly girl and i thought she was really stupid in real life! Whereas Joe Cheng plays a cold blood and quiet guy. Joe Cheng said that their personnality has been reverse in this drama anyway they really play their character very well. Every characters were so lovable! Xiang Qin's friends, Zhi Shu's parents (love his mum!! she is soooo funny!)... Ariel Lin and Joe Cheng are really cute together and i wonder if they are not in love in real life!! There is a good chemistry between them!!

About the music : the OST is perfect!!!

Finally i'm very very satisfied and wanna buy the dvd! :-)

So i advise everyone to watch it!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
It Started With A Kiss 2009-10-03 23:38:27 pnaikween
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
pnaikween Reviewed by pnaikween    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

LOVE IT!!!

I just finished watching this drama (living in Australia, was hard for me to rent or buy any Asian Dramas that has been released unless if I have a Chinese/Jap/Korean Cable haha unfortunately none!) so it took me a while to watch most of the dramas.
Anyhow, I love this drama but I think it’s not recommended for those people who likes full of love and blossoms in the air! Haha! But for me I love this drama, the reason is because of the LOVE and HATE relationship between Zhi Shu and Xing Qin.

This drama reminds me of Princess Hours (Goong).

Bogshi is right, when I got around the middle of the episodes it started having this clueless, unrelated scenarios and I also thought that this is going to be sucked at the end…But somehow I managed to stay and didn’t stop watching it (thanks to Zhi Shu’s attiude!!haha)

I love this drama, it’s not only because Jiro Wang & Joe Cheng starred on it. It’s also because it was funny, hilarious and there were some crying moments and last but not the least all the actors and actresses did an awesome job. There were also a lot of ups and downs between them two and the families and friends.

I love the song Say That You Love Me too…!!

Now, I’m waiting for They Kissed Again to be released (with English Subtitles)

Overall, totally recommended to everyone (as I recall, I remembered staying two nights in a row without any sleep hehe it means the drama was really good, u get hooked by it you don’t even want to turn it off and go to bed hehehe ^_^ )

(I accidentally, posted my reviews on the COMMENTS section hehe my bad)

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
It Started With A Kiss 2009-10-03 23:32:38 everlasting_love
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
everlasting_love Reviewed by everlasting_love    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

It Started With a Kiss: OKAY

Story - This drama is based on a japanese manga but not entirely followed. It's not a bad thing, actually. I can't really say it was well-directed and all. But the plot was hilarious and nice. Sometimes, the story gets slow and dragging. I do agree with BOGCHI, it's unrealistic. But then it's unique and there are parts that will keep you up all night. I can say it's just OKAY.

Acting - No comment, actually. So why 8/10? For me, the perfect acting is when it seems to come out naturally and it doesn't seem as if it were only "acting". Don't get me wrong! I respect the actors and actresses here! It's not with them, perhaps with the production.

MUSIC - No one can't ignore the music in this drama! It was awesome! It really completes the scenes. VERY VERY well-picked.


Satisfaction - Unlike other drama, where I watch them over and over again. I can't say I could do that for this drama. I could say it was just OKAY.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
It Started With A Kiss 2009-10-03 22:36:02 BOGCHI
Overall rating 
 
8.3
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
BOGCHI Reviewed by BOGCHI    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Silly, entertaining

"It Started With a Kiss" is one of the first Taiwanese dramas I've seen, and made me want to see more.

Story - Based on a Japanese manga, It Started With a Kiss is about a clumsy air-head, but VERY patient girl, who likes a cold-hearted guy. Due to some some crazy circumstances, she and her father ends up living with him and his family.

I really liked this drama from the beginning, although it was UNBELIEVABLY unrealistic, it was very funny and entertaining. The drama goes on with the girl and guy's love and hate relationship, all throughout it was pretty much like that with different scenarios. When I got around the middle of this 24-episode drama.. it started to feel dragging. Nonsense, senseless things started to pop-up, which didn't seem to have done anything to the progress of the story. Fortunately, it picked up at the latter episodes.. the climax of the story really made up for the dragging parts in the middle.

Will it be a happy ending or a sad ending?.. it's for you to find out.

Acting - It wouldn't be such a good drama if it wasn't for the acting. I didn't think there was much to be acted though, but overall.. they delivered. One of the most memorable character would be Zhi Shu's mom (very hilarious), so watch out for it.

Music - "It Started With a Kiss" had a really good soundtrack. Fits the drama pretty well. Say That You Love Me was a very catchy theme song, and all the insert song where easy on the ears.

Overall, it was a silly, yet entertaining drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
40
Report this review
 

Search

Category:    Network:    
Release Date:    Episodes:    
Genres: Keywords:   

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

Nobuta wo Produce
User rating
 
8.8 (3)
Strongest Chil Woo
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Soulmate
User rating
 
9.5 (9)
Que Sera Sera
User rating
 
7.6 (3)
Full House
User rating
 
8.9 (4)