Reviews written by jcrew

6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
2007
 
2009-10-03 23:51:48 jcrew
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
jcrew Reviewed by jcrew    October 03, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Sign me up with this class

Good and satisfying drama!

11 episodes? Now this is condensed. This is one of the finest dramas I've seen. Sure there are holes and silly things, but overall, the show deserves a hand of applause. Where do you start when watching j-drama? This is a good and recommended place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2006
 
2009-10-03 23:51:07 jcrew
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Story 
 
3.0
Acting 
 
5.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
2.0
jcrew Reviewed by jcrew    October 03, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Forgettable

Yeah, this is one of the worst dramas I've seen. Yes, I am in love with Cyndi Wang. She's so cute and hot. I watch her music videos and smile and watch it over and over.
I also love pasta and I love dramas with cafe or shop themes. Romantic comedy are my interest and I have watched a lot of dramas from many countries.

This simply does not have a good or fun or funny or addictive story. This is so mundane and cliche and at times boring that I can't believe the producers actually let the series drag.

Cyndi does not have much to work with. She smiles and acts cute, but it got nowhere. The actor is simply working off Cyndi's looks. The supporting cast are also bland and outlandish. I was bored by the 4th episode. The rest really dragged and were unimaginative. Where's the pasta crisis?

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2007
 
2009-10-03 23:50:24 jcrew
Overall rating 
 
7.8
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
jcrew Reviewed by jcrew    October 03, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Pretty good

This is pretty addictive drama show. I really like the chemistry between the leads. Barbie Xie's a good actress and that guy is ok. I don't really like his style and his singing, but he did a ok job here.

The story's pretty good. Lots of cute moments and the situation makes this a drama the viewers can get into. The location shifts between Shanghai and Taiwan but it's like we're traveling through time. It's good enough to put a smile in our face.

I thought this drama had a lot of fun moments. Nothing too serious or evoking tears, which makes this a fun drama to watch. I'd recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
2005
 
2009-10-03 23:49:47 jcrew
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
jcrew Reviewed by jcrew    October 03, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Comedy full of tearjerking pain

First off, Eugene of SES is really cute in this. She's one of the cutest and prettiest actresses who's famous for her singing. And this drama captures her cuteness very very well. She's great in this drama. You're likely fall in love with her. She's beyond mature all the while keeping her angelic and pure heartedness. The actor is very believable as an immature yet good hearted guy. He's supposed to do silly things to upset his wife. He does it so well, we hate him. But he invokes our sympathy cause he does the right thing in the end of the day.

The story is pretty simple. Guy and girl have a One Night Stand (without a condom). Pretty risque, but they own up and marry and have the kid. Of course, neither of them wants to be married or tied at such a young age. But they endure for the sake of the baby. They endure even though they are still finding their niche in life. They survive and balance their lives to keep their sanity and their pride afloat. it's serious. Not much for comedy, but this IS a comedy. Therefore, like my title suggests, it's a comedy full of tearjerking pain. You are supposed to feel like they've made a huge mistake and they should just divorce and leave. But they endure. This is a mature comedy topic.

I really enjoyed the beginning of the series. When the baby was crying it was pretty difficult to watch. They were in so much pain. I hated the baby crying scenes. I could easily give my rating a 2 if I stopped watching. But thank goodness the annoying baby grew up and became a cute kid. This is when comedy started and we got into some light fun. The kid's really cute. But what do you expect when the mom is EUGENE!! Anyway, good acting all around. Even the supporting cast is fun to watch. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I give this a solid 9. A good 10 if the stupid baby phase lasted like two episodes only. But it ran too darn long. I wanted to throw the baby off the bridge. Then the kid girl phase which redeemed the series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2004
 
2009-10-03 23:44:01 jcrew
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
jcrew Reviewed by jcrew    October 03, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Pretty good. Kinda Over-Rated for me

The premise of this Drama is pretty good. It's a good concept and has the potential to be a really special Drama. What made it less satisfying for me is Rain's performance. I was unfazed by his acting and felt he was there just for his pretty face. The actress did a fantastic job and she was really believable. She was amazing.

The story is pretty simple. Girl and famous guy bicker but find common ground to benefit eachother. They pretend marriage so that she gets her house back and he gets away from scandal so he can focus on the girl he thinks he loves. While together, they bicker and torture each other until it becomes unbearable. But even as they "hate", they fall into the common stereotype that male and female together for a while could develop a strong bond. They separate, only to get back together.

The drama is a pleasure to watch, but Rain's poor acting made it hard to sympathize with him. He's just incorrigible. The supporting cast is very very good. Almost excellent. The producers really hit a home run with the supporting cast. Lots of very good sub-plots to give this 16 episode season a good and addictive run.

As much as this drama is good, there are a few others that are better. But the story and the supportive cast make this a strong 9 overall. I don't remember much in terms of laughing as I didn't find this drama that funny, but I do remember that this drama has a lot of heartfelt moments and growth of characters. This is quite a mature drama, if only they casted a stronger actor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
22
Report this review
2007
 
2009-10-03 23:43:23 jcrew
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
jcrew Reviewed by jcrew    October 03, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Very satisfying Kdrama

This is a good drama. The actress Soo Ae is very convincing as a 30 year old girl looking to stay young and get married/have a career. Her chemistry with the male actor is very funny and a pleasure to watch.

Pretty much the leads have been friends for like 20 years so they rely on eachother for support and advice. But chemistry and hidden feelings come out when they live together and find that no matter who they fall in a relationship with, they still can't give the other up. It's very strong and love is inevitable, but do they dare put their friendship on the line for the gamble of love?

I really feel that this is one of the better comedies out there. The chemistry itself should be mentioned over and over again. The story is fun and light and not too predictable. The supporting cast, however, are weak and seem to be fodder to waste time. Cutting them out of the scenes would result in a much shorter Drama series, but the story will flow faster. I really feel no one cares about any of the supporting characters. This is something the writers of K-Drama need to work on.

Overall, I'd give it a strong 9 / 10. For me, It's one of the personal favorites, but I'm inclined to think there's one much better. My Girl is a good candidate. My Girl has a strong cast, a good story, and full of humor, suspense, romance, and of course, tears.

Hope you all enjoy this drama if you ever stumble upon it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
6 results - showing 1 - 6

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

Corner With Love
User rating
 
8.4 (3)
1 Liter of Tears
User rating
 
9.9 (14)
Last Friends
User rating
 
8.0 (3)
Fashion 70's
User rating
 
8.3 (1)
Great Teacher Onizuka
User rating
 
9.5 (1)