Reviews written by aznanimedude

45 results - showing 1 - 20 1 2 3
 
2012
 
2014-06-14 16:09:31 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    June 14, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Is it better the second time around?

Yes i'm biased. I don't even know if anyone ever even comes to this site anymore to review dramas. But i still remember this place, and i come back every now and then to remember that one summer that sparked my coming here, where i watched drama after drama. And during that time there was one drama that has still stuck to me this day and to this day is still my favorite drama. If you have read my reviews before I don't hide that fact that Proposal Daisakusen is my favorite drama ever. Not even one liter of tears, soul mate, densha otoko, any of the other dramas which i have thoroughly enjoyed have even come close to matching my love for Proposal Daisakusen. In fact you could add up my love for every other drama i've ever seen, and it doesn't even come close to the love i have for Proposal Daisakusen, so much did i enjoy and treasure that drama. And so when i heard that korea remade it, i didn't know what to feel about it. The main reason is because i thought Proposal Daisakusen was perfect, that you could no no wrong with it and didn't want to see the Korean remake and have it ruin my favorite drama. But i gave it a chance, because i enjoyed the original so much. And so with that in mind, as i just finished it, i will put my thoughts down.

Since i've already seen Proposal Daisakusen, i at some points felt robbed, because it was like rewatching it again, the plot developed in a similar manner. In fact that almost made me stop watching and not continue, because i felt no reason to because i already knew the story, knew what would happen. Yet i continued. I would watch and think "oh here's that part, here's that part". Every time i thought i'd stop, i'd load the next episode and continue watching. And as i came to the end of it, i held absolutely no regrets about watching it. I even paid for a dramafever premium account JUST to watch it in HD with no commercials. I would do that for no other drama besides this tbh now that i reflect on it. But i'm getting really personal here so i'll now talk a bit about the rating points i gave.

Story: this story is the reason Proposal Daisakusen became my favorite drama and also now why this actually holds a tie with it, even though it's the same drama in a way. Because this story is about love, but it also isn't about love. It is about a man who regrets and strives to the very end to change the past, but has to learn that no matter how he changes the past, the man in the present has not changed a single bit. In fact, i actually enjoy the story as presented even more in this go around. One small tiny issue if i ever had one with the original was it was in 11 episodes, standard japanese drama length, whereas korean dramas tend to be 16 episodes. As such, it had more room to develop plots, and boy did it. I also enjoy when they add tiny tidbits and then refer to them later, things you initially think are insignificant but turn out to change everything. In fact that's how this story is, it is about small insignificant changes that the main character make, that end up allowing for the biggest climax. I have no words to express my thoughts really on this plot, but i tried. It's just so much to me, 10/10

Acting: There had better be good acting, i would accept nothing less and was given more than i expected or wanted. I'm not big on the korean acting scene and haven't been in forever, but I am very satisfied with the casting for this, they pulled it off amazingly, hence the 10/10.

Music : Music makes a drama. When the music fits, when it sticks in your head, when you hear the song and immediately it takes you back to the drama, then it has fulfilled its purpose. When you hear the emotion behind it and associate it with a scene, with a feeling, it has done exactly the purpose of it being on the soundtrack. And it has done it here.

Satisfaction : from everything i've written so far it should be clear the level to which i am satisfied with watching this. I do not consider the money i spent for a premium account to be wasted, nor the time i spent, the sleepless hours i watched rather than slept, none of it feels wasted to me, nor do i regret doing so. I feel like i've been taken back years to the moment i finished Proposal Daisakusen, when i sat there thinking, nothing can ever top this, and feel almost cheated in believing i would ever enjoy another drama to the level i enjoyed Proposal Daisakusen. Yes i enjoy other dramas, but this is like nothing else. It holds a place in my heart that i truly believe no other would be able to fill. It sounds cheesy but i firmly believe in that statement. That is why Proposal Daisakusen became and still is my favorite drama ever. And why this now shares that top spot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2008
 
2013-10-29 01:16:33 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    October 29, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Wait have I seen this drama before?

So this drama, like many i've watched, i started, stopped for a long period, then finally just decided i'd finish. Ad because of that, you get to put up with yet ANOTHER review by me :3. And so here's my thoughts on it.

First off, one thing this drama is amazing for is having very serious themes and concepts in the plot, but yet still lightening it up a bit. Like the *ahem* love scene in episode 1, they're clearly going at it, but what do you see? a video of a train going in and out of a tunnel, and then fireworks and planes in a bunched up formation and then spreading out. Serious love moment, and yet that brought a chuckle out of me. That's one thing that impressed me about the drama is, it has very serious moments, but also light humor to keep it from being heavy and overbearing.

The story is fairly nice, the story of a man who through a series of coincidental events, shacks up and impregnates someone while on a cruise mistaking her for his girlfriend, and she likewise thinking she's sleeping with her boyfriend. And so with that, the necessary meeting has been made for them to enter each other's lives. It's the classic story of 2 completely different people meeting, one an arrogant self-entitled rich boy, the other a meek girl afraid of not being liked and thus accepts every request made of her. As such it's the perfect storm plot, where they spend time together, and gradually begin to see the better side of the other, and each changing the other for the better. One learns to stand up for herself and becomes even more empowered, the other softening and becoming more accepting. And of course, like any other romance, they fall HEAD OVER HEELS IN LOVE CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT THE OTHER PERSON. Only, it's the classic "she doesn't want to ruin his life so she keeps her love hidden, he doesn't know waht he really wants so he doesn't realize it himself" situation. And then that's when all the fun really begins.

In the end, i'm quite glad i picked this drama back up and finished it. I enjoyed it, it was fun to go through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2009
 
2013-10-29 00:59:27 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    October 29, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

One scene basically made this a memorable drama in my mind

I was told about this drama 2 years ago, and I would not have even dusted this off had i not felt the need to watch something while I took the train to work. Nevertheless i ended up watching every episode of this drama.

The only thing that struck me was Rainie Yang, i'm biased (as usual), but Rainie did well here. I've only ever watched her in Devil Beside You and her acting there was.........meh, in my opinion. Here she did quite well. Jiro Wang i think of as the unfortunate victim being the bystander in love with the female lead character in It Started With a Kiss. Here he did a fairly good job as well.

Story was ok, cutesy, reminded me a little bit of Star No Koi for the celebrity with normal person angle. Maybe a little bit also of reverse Full House? celebrity in female lead's house, start off rough, fall in love? close enough.

Blunt honesty moment, i wasn't blown away by this drama. That is until the last 10ish minutes of the 2 hour last episode. Then the amazing moment came when the main character unveiled the romantic bomb that had been brewing for at least 5-6 episodes. It was one of those things where when it's first introduced you're like aww that'll make a cute addition, and then it's put in the backburner until that epic glorious moment when it's brought back in and you're like OMG THAT, I REMEMBER THAT, OMG AWESOME, AMG AMG AMG. That's probably what ran through my head, and i'm pretty glad it was saved as like a final point to end the drama, rather than something that was brought in and basically diluted through a longer plot involvement. If you watch what i'm talking about, i basically giggled and smiled like some hopeless romantic giddy school girl, and i will only admit that here, please keep it a secret :3. And i may or may not have then proceeded to rewatch that scene at least 30 times over the course of the day. I unno, i just liked that scene, and that moment that much, it was a pretty good culmination of the entire story.

That pretty much sums up the 10 in music and 9 in satisfaction. Yeah...

Does it break personal top 10? As a whole, maybe not, that ending scene, yeah i'd put that maybe #7

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2010
 
2013-07-10 14:51:52 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    July 10, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Does this drama fit MY "Personal Preference"?

Honestly right now, I don't even know why I'm at this point of writing a review for this, or even why I started watching and finished this drama. Perhaps because it's been so long since I've watched one, or written a review for one i felt a bit of an itch to jump back into it. Regardless, the drama i ended up jumping back in, even if only temporarily, to review is this one. I had heard of it, but honestly the reason i never watched and reviewed it to begin with was it never really struck me as a stand out drama that I would be much interested in.

Regardless of any prior sentiments, I ended up watching it and being the type I am, i had my moments with this drama. After having watched more than a few, of course it quickly began to just follow and fit in with a pre-set and proven plot line, so the story in itself is good, but predictable. I enjoyed it, for the most part, because many things kept me in it, like the music, and Son Ye Jin. Son Ye Jin basically sold this drama to me. I'm a immense fan of her, love her to death, but for good reason and confirmed in this drama when she basically carried the drama through in my opinion. Lee Min Ho did his fair share to be honest, and of course it takes two to sell a romance, but put their acting side by side and honestly, Lee Min Ho, while his acting was decent, Son Ye Jin was just great. Disclaimer that my previous sentence might be biased a bit for Son Ye Jin and against Lee Min Ho, but i stand by my opinion.

Either way, I didn't end this drama thinking "well that was a waste of 3 days", which is a success in my book tbh. It's not a top 10 in my opinion, but it certainly was a successful drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2011
 
2012-02-17 01:44:54 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
8.3
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    February 17, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

What this drama taught me

I'm trying to be more critical in my reviews, since just about every drama i've watched has been one i've recommended, and i've given 9s and 10s out like the plague. Makes mild sense though since i tend to only watch ones i think are good. This was no exception, i had hopes for it, or maybe i'm just that in love and a rabid fan of toda erika.

This drama was not crap, but then again it didn't blow my socks off. I have said that dramas by japanese are either hit or miss, either a smashing success or a catastrophic flop. This surprisingly was neither for me, i felt it wasn't bad, or amazing.

The plot is a nice one i suppose, but it felt too middle of the line. The character who you early on felt would be this stereotypical conceited home wrecker too quickly softened up. It felt like the plot tried to do too much and go too many places. The characters i felt you could have connected more with, but they didn't do quite enough, which is essentially a theme of just about everything about this drama, as in it did some things, but at the same time didn't do anything.

One thing that i found amusing and kinda cool, the OST for this is essentially an album for PINK, all of the insert songs were just PINK songs xD. It fit, it was original, i haven't really seen that anywhere else, i liked it a little in its own way.

Is it something you just have to see? not really
Did i like it? kind of
am i trying hard to find the good points of this drama? Yes very.

maybe the hidden quality of this drama is evading and eluding me at the moment, i'm still mildly gathering my thoughts about it, and perhaps in my pondering it hits me like a ton of bricks, but until then, my scores will stand. It wasn't amazing, it wasn't a disaster, it was just ok.

Was this review helpful to you? 
31
Report this review
2004
 
2012-01-05 22:43:52 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    January 05, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

in their own worlds of darkness, they were each others' lights

what is this? aznanimedude still watches dramas? well yes it's been over a year since i last watched/reviewed one, but after being teased by this i just could not resist spending the last 2 days to watch it.

there is so much i want to say about this drama, but far too much to expect me to think of in the moments i have to write in here, nor do i even know where to begin my thoughts on this drama. First off, the opening episode of this was so incredible that i had not seen one as amazing since byakuyakou. Very rarely do i find a drama that serves as introduction to the characters and sets the story and background as well as this one does. From the very beginning you understand exactly the characters, and can even begin to see the storyline unfold from the very beginning, it's as if the drama teases you enough to continue and then doesn't let you down as it takes you down the road of the plot.

From a reviewer standpoint, this show is pure gold. It is the kind of thing that i dream of encountering so i can just dig layers deep into the intricacies. I sincerely enjoyed watching this drama and watch the evolution of a man who questions where to go from where he stands, and a girl who is convinced there is nowhere she can progress from where she is. You see as he begins to slowly dig deep into her soul, past the scars and fears to the real person. This is a drama that calls into question the sincerity of romance, where a boy manages to delve past scars, and realizes what he's found is exactly what he is looking for.

The music is amazingly done, and from the beginning was a good sign as i believe that amazing music that suits the situation is what separates many dramas apart. It is possible to have a bad drama without good music, but it is impossible to have an amazing one without amazing music.

in closing, i know i sound like a broken record because everything i've said is exactly what i've said in most every other drama review i've written for this site. But if there was any way i could convey to you right now how much this drama has impacted me and how much i believe this drama is incredible and cannot be missed, i have tried to with this review. Whether or not you end up watching it is up to you, but i believe it would be a severe travesty to consider yourself a j-drama fan and have not seen this drama. Such is my opinion on how amazing it is.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
2004
 
2011-02-09 14:58:51 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    February 09, 2011
Last updated: February 11, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

the real title's too long to type out T__T

i have some conflicting feelings about this drama. On one side, as a drama critic, this drama is emotional gold. On the other, personally, i was left kind of...hanging emotion-wise. And that's why i'm conflicted. This was a very good drama, and i can see the amount of emotion it's supposed to evoke, and so when i was left not feeling that level of emotion, i was mildly confused. But that's besides the point of this review and thus should be taken with a grain of salt, my review will be honest and objectively analyze without a hint of my subjectivism :).

Sekai no Chuushin de was a drama that i had heard and been recommended for years but only just now have watched. At the time i was being told about it, i had just finished 1 litre of tears and was on an emotional rollercoaster because of it and didn't feel like i would be able to handle yet another depressing drama, so i put it off but then it slipped my mind until just recently when i decided i'd take the time and watch it. In here we have a story that many will probably have heard before if you have watched My Girl and I or A Walk to Remember. The level of romance between the two is touching and so real that the thought of them being separated is sad. From the beginning hearing her say that she'd always waited and hoped for a world with him is a statement that still sends chills to my body, even now as i write this. It is thus understandable and creates a solid base upon which to develop and create this drama. It is the story of a boy who has grown up and spent the last 17 years unwilling to let go of the greatest love he's ever had. A life where for 17 years he has buried himself in work so he doesn't have to remember, and has managed to live life without thinking of it. But this is also a world where he forgets everything until he sleeps, where work cannot prevent him from reminiscing and thus for 17 years has slept only to wake up with tears streaming down his face as he returns from a happy past to a reality that the one he loved is no longer in the world.

The very idea is so chilling it's amazing. This drama does waht the 2 movies i mentioned don't really do, and that is explore the life of the boy after the death, and the struggles he must deal with in the wake of her departure. You mourn for him as he struggles to find a way to finally gain release and let her go. You feel his pain as he watches the cruel fate of life slowly take away the very woman he has come to love, and think of how wonderful their life would be had this cruel event not taken place. In that sense it harkens to 1 litre, where you also watch a girl slowly lose everything she had. In that way, this drama is so amazing that yes i would put it on the caliber of 1 litre in terms of brilliance.

And the music, oh my god the music would put me on the verge. The emotion present in the music is AMAZING. I would not allow any of you to miss this drama for the world, it's goooooood :)

edit:
Ok i guess i lied when i started writing this, and this review has given me the little bit of extra time to actually think about this drama. This has been edited more than you reading this will realize, and over the course i have finally grasped my mind around this drama. Rating changes and review edits later, this is the end result. A review that will say just this. This drama, is amazing, and the tears that were muted when i initially finished the drama are now gradually beginning to flow as i think about the drama. I guess i was just emotionally shell shocked that i couldn't cry.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
2005
 
2011-02-06 01:09:43 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    February 06, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

It actually started with an earthquake

Ok 2 things.

1. i can't believe i actually didn't write a review for it here, i swore i did
2. Joe Cheng's laugh here is creepy O___O

and now with that being said on to the review.

I'll be honest and say, i haven't watched many taiwanese dramas, in fact about the only ones i have actually watched are: Devil Beside You, ISWAK, Fated to Love you, ISWAK 2, Meteor Garden, ToGetHer, and of those, i've actually only completely finished 2 of them xD. My reason is just that i haven't really paid attention to Taiwanese ones and am tending to look towards the other countries. Not to say that i find them inferior, it's just a fact, although i will try to watch more of them :P. But on topic now.

ISWAK, short of It Started With A Kiss, is one of THE dramas you think of when you think taiwanese dramas. The story is a classic one that romance lovers will just devour. A innocent girl, and a cocky prodigy that can do just about anything, the girl that every girl would die to go out with. An unfortunate event and a interesting past friendship brings a girl who was already rejected by him into his household. It's a pure coincidence that is absolutely necessary to create the link, and is one of my minor complaints if anything, just the fact that the whole story revolves around a lucky coincidence, minor complaint and not really anything big. You've got love triangles, meddling outsiders, love, rejection, the good stuff that makes a drama....well, dramatic. It's cute in that although she's the most unlikely candidate to date what the drama seems to portray as the perfect guy, it's her very innocence and persistence, and never say die attitude that leads to the ultimate climax, the adorable kiss in the rain. Like seriously, what's more romantic than a guy running out into the rain saying "IT HAS TO BE YOU! NO ONE ELSE". And then smooching the girl in the rain. The makers certainly knew what would get the audience interested.

The music is pretty good, i'm not a huge fan of chinese music, but i really liked the insert songs. Ariel Lin is an adorable girl, the casting was good and the characters do a good job on their parts.

It's cliche, but that's what romance lovers like, it's sweet, it will make you feel warm and fuzzy inside, and so if you are into this sort of thing (which you likely are if you're reading this), give this one a look.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
2010
 
2011-02-04 14:58:16 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    February 04, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

How Love can melt a cold girl's heart

i think i've been getting more and more harsh in my ratings as time has gone xD. i used to give everything 9s and 10s. Now i kinda like this drama, but my average score for it is less.

So onto explanation for this. I'll be bluntly honest, I only really wanted to watch this because i have a big crush on moon geun young. There I said it, i had a insanely shallow reason for wanting to watch it:3.

This drama was...ok i suppose. The amount of effort to make Moon Geun Young's character seem cold hearted and emotionally drained and hurt was obvious. Also obvious was the fact they intended to chronicle the story of a girl who was hardened as a child to be cold and wary of warming up to people, and follow as she slowly opens up to the world and melt her ice cold heart. The parallelisms to cinderella are mildly obvious, it's the story of what cinderella woulda been like had she not been so innocent, this is a cinderella that was broken. The plot was interesting i suppose, although i have the feeling that further pondering might yield better thoughts, my thoughts right now are that it was interesting, but not overall amazing.

And in my rare moment of shallowness (oh yes there's more shallow), i didn't think the male lead was all that handsome or amazing, but that may just be my jealousy getting in the way, much like i don't think Jae Hee is an amazing actor out of pure jealousy of who he was able to smooch in 2 of his dramas.

The one insert song, sung by Yesung, was ok i suppose, but i've by now mildly grown tired of one insert song dramas, unless the song is just that flippin amazing.

Don't misunderstand though, in all honesty, this drama was pretty good, and it's a touching tale of a hurt child growing up and being changed and warming up to the world thanks to the love of people around her. The story is touching, i just am mildly disappointed at the end result, not because it was bad, but because i just personally feel that this could have been soooo SOOOOOOOO much more than it ended up being, although the end result was not shabby as is.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
2006
 
2011-02-04 14:36:14 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    February 04, 2011
Last updated: February 04, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

This is not a love song, or any ordinary romantic drama for that matter

Ok, so it's been over a year since i've honestly written a drama review, but i recently watched this and just had to comment.

For the longest time my favorite drama list has remained relatively constant.
proposal daisakusen, 1 litre, densha otoko always are topping the list. however, after recent reconsideration, i realized i had to make a change to that list due to my realization of how much i adored certain dramas and lost my initial star-dazzle for others.

that being said, Soulmate is definately one of those that shot high onto my list. it didn't overtake my top 2, but it sits comfortably on my #3 spot, which i can assure you is hard to do.

So waht spurred this?

quite frankly, from the very get go, i was instantly addicted. From the first words singing "this is not a love song", to watching character development that was so amazing i was awestruck, this was definately a keeper. in a year that spawned such titles as Dr. Kkaeng, Goong, Which Star Did you Come From, Spring Waltz, and Unstoppable High Kick, this drama seemingly slipped past the mention of many a drama watcher/reviewer. Why? because the actors were not big name, because the Drama wasn't connected to a famous series like Spring Waltz was. But i will comfortably venture to say that in my own honest opinion, this drama hands down was the best of that year, even better than the almighty Goong.

Very early, the stage was set and you knew there would be a soulmate somewhere, and mildly early, it was set who those would be. Now once established the question was, how would it develop. With seemingly set up relationships that seemed to work, what does soulmate really mean? This drama touches on so many questions about love. Rather than just watch through, you are constantly asking, when will it happen? When will they meet up. As you watch chance after chance pass by, until finally they meet, you are held in your seat wondering, what next? What will happen? As you are taken through the life of several interconnected people, you are left to see how story after story unfolds, as people begin to learn just how well they know each other, and watch as interactions abound.

This drama is the epitome of the saying, don't judge a book by its cover. Looking just at the actor/actress list, you will think "oh no big names, must be a lesser drama". The synopsis you'll find on things like even d-addicts' wiki will not even do it justice. This is the sort of drama you have to see to even begin to comprehend the amazing that it is. This review, and the others on the site will only guide you towards it, but quite honestly, this a such an amazing gem, you can't not watch it.

Story: amazingly thought out, i have rarely seen a story so well planned out from start to finish
Acting: WHERE DID THESE PEOPLE COME FROM? seriously, this was casted so near amazingly and portrayed i was in awe
Music: "This is not a love song", nuff said.
Overall: you cannot call yourself a drama enthusiast without having watched this

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
2000
 
2010-04-13 12:24:19 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    April 13, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Il Mare

lol BOGCHI beat me to it but that's ok, because this movie is that awesome.

i would like to really simply only add my own little flair and analysis and thoughts to the pool of ideas BOGCHI set forth.

The story touches on so many ideas that many moviegoers and just drama junkies like myself always like seeing writers answer. What can you do, what would you do, if you find the person you were meant to be with? What would you do to save them? What sort of connections can you make between the two protagonists, something not done before?

I'll admit it right here right now, and it's a pretty well known fact if you just go through my reviews and look at what i tend to rate really highly. I'm a huge junkie for time slip-esque dramas. I adored Boku no Kanojo Wa Cyborg, Proposal Daisakusen is my #1 drama, Mop Girl was a gem to me, if there's a time slip, I'M THERE. People being given the chance to go back and froth through time, and seeing what they make of it, that is the sort of story i gobble up, because it is analysis fodder, it is the kind of thing i SALIVATE, yes i said it, i SALIVATE, at the thought of watching and analyzing. Sure i like the sappy romance, but only to a point, because unless there is something deep, i really find it hard to truly cherish such a story and drama/movie.

and let me tell you, Il Mare does not disappoint. Not in the least. There is analysis galore to be had in this movie. It made me ponder, think, look at things, and when it dawned on me, i was awestruck and amazed. And i hope you will be too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2005
 
2010-04-08 02:03:32 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    April 08, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Oh my (dear) girl and i

yes i gave it 10's all around, it's that darn good.
Cha Tae Hyun is oh so good. This is a heartfelt story that is oh so wonderful to watch. I will repeat words i've said oh so very often, but when you like things as much as i do, they tend to have things that are in common.

and so i will say you ride the ebbs and flows, you feel touched and a very involved spectator watching the growth of the relationship between these 2 cute characters. this is just so wonderful, it sends chills through my bones when i just think about the movie much less watch it, which i have done many many times, that's how good it is and how much i like it. as i have said before, one of the defining chracteristics of something is how many times can you watch it and still have chills sent through your spine as you watch, after weeks and months even years, how well do oyu still remember it, and how well does it still affect you. i have my answer with this movie, and that answer is, still, hauntingly, to this very day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
2004
 
2010-04-08 01:54:11 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    April 08, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

My Sassy Girl Part 2

Ok, this is from the brilliant mind that brought you My sassy Girl. this screams My Sassy Girl so much xD, albeit it's not explicitly a prequel. It give syou a "slight" sense of ccompletion by kinda giving the nameless girl a name. I've had several tell me they like this movie better than My Sassy Girl. while i don't necessarily agree with them on that, i'm not going to disagree and can see why they would think that way.

Jun Ji Hyun puts up a nice performance. She's no sassy girl, but still a good one nonetheless

(also yes i know i've recommended every one of the dramas i've reviewed, but honestly, i'm just that optimistic about dramas that i tend to want to recommend every single one i watch, unless i really viewed it as crap, which i rarely do :D)

watch it, it's the perfect after my Sassy Girl Movie to watch

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2006
 
2010-04-06 20:20:38 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
8.3
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    April 06, 2010
Last updated: February 08, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Which Star Are You From

I'm going to be honest. If you've seen Witch Yoo Hee, or any version of Hana Yori Dango, you've heard of this plot before. In fact, it's the very plot that the endless love series, you know, the 4 seasons dramas, made so popular and famous. So why should you watch this? well that's a question you're going to have to answer yourself. Personally, i'm madly in love with Jeong Ryeo Won, and am a big fan of Kim Rae Won from My Little Bride and Love Story in Harvard fame. So that was one thing going for me. And i'm also a sucker for romances, so shoot me for watching this if you wish :P.

all in all, if you are looking for a fresh new storyline that sweeps you off your feet, something you've never heard of before or thought of, this isn't it.

Irregardless, i'd still highly recommend it, but that might be my fanaticism seeping through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
45 results - showing 1 - 20 1 2 3

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

18 vs. 29
User rating
 
8.3 (1)
Papa to Musume no Nanokakan
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Pride
User rating
 
9.0 (2)
14-sai no Haha
User rating
 
8.4 (2)
1 Liter of Tears
User rating
 
9.9 (14)