Reviews written by asianmel

6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
2007
 
2009-10-04 01:03:01 asianmel
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
asianmel Reviewed by asianmel    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Are you a Himono Onna?

I finally made it! i have witnessed the greatest drama of the century!!!!!! although my 200 pesos have been spent unwisely because the dvd isnt complete and still have to stream two more episodes, while having problems with connection so the loading have been a loooooooong wait, i was able to watch three episodes of haruhi suzumiya because of that,,only knowing that after the 3rd part of the episode 10 the pc will just reboot...oh GOLLY.. so i still have to wait again for a decade to continue watching,,so i browse, for the moment, related info for haruhi because i got hooked mildly by the show, i thought it would grew into a more interest appreciation for the title but after the loading had finally come to its end and it's the time to continue what have been started....VOILA!!!!!!! the most incredible scenario in the history of man had just happened!!

it is the first time, as i remembered, that i really grab my hair so tightly and hold it so firmly because i felt that i was about to explode and will vanish from where i am sitting..yeah,exaggerated but the feeling is more than that, i really never felt and had reactions like that before, after watching great shows in the past (though i havent watched that lot). even hana kimi (japan) beat up my wooing for such a great show!!!! I CRIED, I LAUGHED, I WAS TOUCHED, I WAS MOVED, I WAS ECSTATIC AND I WAS HOOKED SO BADLY!!!!!! my golly, i really do not wish to expect a lot lot lot greatness from this, aside from reading from a blogger that this is a better one,,the plot was already enough to enjoy, a himono-onna character for a very beautiful and talented HOTARU who receive such good treatment from her kind hearted BUCHOU...woooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!! i never wished for them to end up together at first because i want hotaru for teshima for he is younger and more handsome but................the world suddenly rotates around its axis that is why my preference eventually changed............ I WANT NOW THE TWO TO BE TOGETHER FOREVER EVEN IN REAL LIFE!!!!!!! hehehehe....

these actors are really great..i really like ayase haruka for portraying the role because he definitely gives truly justice for it..i dont find her over doing it (OA) but i find her expressions really cute through out the show,,and BUCHOU is the ideal man ever!! i thought he is perfect to be the older bro for hotaru but then their relationship should not only be like that.........good thing they really made it...even i wish there would be an extra episode i already feel contented of how the story goes....that if there would be an additional one im scared there would be complications involve but im sure it will be amazingly hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

HOW TOUCHING THE LINES.................
Hotaru: see you.. see you..why?
Buchou: why? because you love me. and i love you too.

^__________________^ woooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2008
 
2009-10-04 01:02:12 asianmel
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
asianmel Reviewed by asianmel    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Ally of Justice?

*Spoiler Ahead - Beware -Spoiler Ahead - Beware -Spoiler Ahead - Beware -Spoiler Ahead****

How can such a devil woman not have some sort of punishment after doing some cruel things and devilish acts to people? HMph!!!

I really do not know the key point of the writers of just keeping the arrogance of the devil sister until the end. I was hoping she would eventually tone down and repent on her bad doings but it turned out that she, at the end, still lived as the ALLY OF JUSTICE!. So poor Kumako-chan ^~^ The freedom she longs for ages will never come true..(*@*) so sad...haizt...

Heheheheh....

Now I'll stop complaining...

.....cuz' ......I'm So Super Extremely Happy that I finally seen Seigi no Mikata in its true form...Gyabooo!!!

What part would you not like in this one? Well, as for me, N-O-T-H-I-N-G!!

If you are looking for a real feel-good Jdorama that has standards, then this one is SURELY a Keeper!! The story of an older sister who bullies her lil sis is quite something and NEW, although, as for mine, it's the other way around.....hehehehehe...Anywayzzzz..

I thought this one would be all about making the older sis learn a lesson and would be a melo-drama but, surprisingly, it made me cry laughing.....!! The chemistry between the older sis, Makiko (Yu Yamada) and younger sis, Youko (Shida Mirai) is truly a treasure.. They look so good together, and really looked like sisters in real life. They played their parts so so well. I was surprised by Yu Yamada. I know she's a real beauty from the start so I do not expect her to do such absurd things like that of my Hotaru-sama (Haruka Ayase from Hotaru no Hikari). But when she began to do her lil develish gestures with, of course, a lot of funny actions, I realized why she is truly the ALLY OF JUSTICE. Shida Mirai, of course, is a given. She can really act..and act so well. Her performance in the Queen's Classroom is really astounding and here is her another best. Mind you,,,these two ladies received acting awards,,which I think they truly deserve.

The supporting characters were also well portrayed. Naoki-san (Mukai Osamu) is so KAKKOI!! He is super good-looking. He looks like Nicholas Teo but my sister doesn't believe it. He and Makiko look so good together. And I am so happy that the two of them appeared in another Jdorama together, Mei-chan's Butler,..Wushu! I'm definitely going to check it Out! Kanata Hongo who played the love interest of our bubly lil sis is a truly bishounen in the making. He's not a Johnny's but he is so skinny. Why do a lot of Japanese men especially teenagers look so skinny? They are pretty faces but their bodies are a no-no! What kind of trend is that??? Well, anyways, Kanata and Shida have a potential. They are a team to be looked out very soon.

The two families were so lovable, especially that of the sisters'. I like it when they are arguing. I especially like the last episode where they are debating about the divorce and the sisters were quiet, and Youko was contemplating that she had never seen her sister so frailed before, and the memories of her strong sister rushed into her and because of LOVE, she stood up to defend her big sis! It was such a touching scene. I cried so much. I won't tell you what happen next. Find it your self..Mwah mwah mwah!!!

All in all, the drama is a winner. It has a nice BGM and a cute theme song. Want to be entertained? Check this one now. And prepare your heart from laughing.


From a confused why-the-sister-never-gets-a-punishment,
Me ^_^

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2006
 
2009-10-04 01:01:16 asianmel
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
asianmel Reviewed by asianmel    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Being silence for a long years

His life is on the verge of becoming silent after one year. And the silent she falls in love with him from another world. The hands of destiny are pulling on her and him, but what binds them closer together is the young and beautiful memories.

The story begins during the year when Wei Yi is 15 years old. Due to an accident, Qi Wei Yi, who has everything in this world, was sent to the only hospital in a village. During the boring recovery, Wei Yi accidentally discovers an underground air raid shelter in the old hospital. Through a secret passageway within the air raid shelter, he meets a Korean girl, two years younger than him, Zhao Shen Shen, who lost her voice due to an accident. Furthermore, a pure love develops from this meeting. However, due to a succession of mistakes and misunderstandings, Shen Shen and Wei Yi lost contact with each other.

Nine years later, Wei Yi is faced with a very busy business profession and bears the burden of his parents' expectation for him to take over the business. A life that has never encountered any difficult situations made him into a dazzling and confident person. One day, Wei Yi, dismissed a senior employee easily and without any second thoughts. Unexpectedly, the next day, a mute girl and a gangster type guy came to him to seek justice! Wei Yi never imagined that the mute girl is Zhao Shen Shen from nine years ago.

Because of Shen Shen's sense of justice, she left behind a profound impression and favorable feelings on Wei Yi. Under the pulling of fate, these two people meet time and time again. Even though they would fight over minor things each time, but seeing the way that Shen Shen use sign language causes Wei Yi to feel that life is filled with beauty! And her meetings with Wei Yi have become an interesting interlude within Shen Shen's silent life.

At this time, "misfortune" suddenly falls onto Wei Yi. The doctor confirms that Wei Yi has liver cancer and has only one year left to live. Suddenly, Wei Yi remembers an agreement. Nine years ago, he and Shen Shen buried a time capsule together and agreed to open it in ten years…

Without any hesitation, Wei Yi breaks off his engagement with his fiancé, and goes to the place where he and Shen Shen agreed on. As the god of death approaches Wei Yi, fate arranges for him and Shen Shen to reunite! Zhao Shen Shen turns out to be the mute girl.

Wei Yi, whose life is coming to an end, decides to hide his identity. Yet he starts to change bit by bit because of Shen Shen. For Shen Shen, he will happily live the remainder of his 365 days. However, Wei Yi's father, Zhen Yang, is furious over the fact that Wei Yi is changing and all because of an unknown mute girl. He decides to step in personally and settled this obstacle. In order to protect Shen Shen, Wei Yi promises Zhen Yang that he will return to Taiwan to accept treatment. On the day that Wei Yi leaves Da Lian, Shen Shen accidentally finds out that Wei Yi is her love from nine years ago. She finds out that Wei Yi only has one year to live! The love that is suppressed deep inside Shen Shen's heart completely bursts forth!

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
2003
 
2009-10-04 00:59:53 asianmel
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
asianmel Reviewed by asianmel    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

The True Story of Dae Jang Geum

This 70 episode long story is based on a real person who was the first (possibly only) woman to be recorded in Korean history as a King’s personal physician. The scene is set in the Joseon Dynasty at a time when society had a distinct class hierarchy system dominated by adamant chauvinistic traditions. Despite being a relatively well off period in history the country suffered from political instability with internal power struggles within the royal family and a government saturated with corrupt officials at every turn. The nation faced constant raids from the Japanese and was subordinate to China. In the midst of the chaos is the life story of a girl who relied not on connections or power but generosity and an unyielding spirit to be bestowed the title of the “Great Jang-geum” (series title) by the King himself.

Jang-geum’s (JG) parents were originally from the palace. JG’s father was a King’s officer given the task of carrying out the death sentence (poison) on the queen at the time. The event harrowed him so much that he resigned and left the capital. JG’s mother was a gong nu (palace girl) who cooked but unfortunately witnessed a crime (by a girl I’ll call Choi Shang Gong) which she reported. To ensure her silence the guilty parties attempted to murder her away from the palace. Her best friend (I’ll call Han Shang Gong) was forced to participate but managed to tamper with the poison used beforehand. JG’s mother was left for dead but was rescued and nursed back to health by JG’s father. And surprise they get together. Meanwhile the prince (whose mother was poisoned) ascends the throne and the first thing he does is impose revenge on anyone involved in his mother’s death. As a result, JG parents and JG lived on the run, constantly on the move - keeping their identities secret and dodging officials. Peaceful years go by until their past finally caught up to them and by then JG was about 6/7 yrs old. Because of her immaturity her father was arrested (and killed) which forced JG’s mother to contact her past acquaintance (Han) for help. This alerted the Choi family that she was still alive and they sent assassins after them. JG’s mother was fatally wounded from protecting JG and died in a cave. Her final wish was for her daughter, if she so chooses, to return to the palace as a gong nu and become the Highest Head Cook in order to gain access to the Head Cook’s Record book and write down the injustice she suffered so that it would pass to future generations.

And so begins the journey of little orphan JG who comes under the care of a petty yet well-meaning couple and becomes her adopted family. When she was 8, JG manages to beg her way into the palace to be a gong nu and makes good friends (Lien Shen) as well as rivals (Ling Lo) with other girls. She also makes friends with Geum-young who is part of the Choi family. Training since a young age, Geum-young was talented in cooking, and was seen as a potential Highest Head Cook. This would carry on the five generational tradition of Head Cooks in the Choi family and preserve their power in the palace. Even at such a young age Geum-young struggled to accept the path mapped out for her and she bid a tearful farewell to a childhood crush (Min Jung-ho) - as gong nus were seen as the King’s women and forbidden to marry.

JG’s curiosity and persistence constantly landed her in trouble with her superiors. By coincidence she becomes apprentice to Han (her mother’s best friend) neither knowing their connection. Although Han took a liking to JG it turned cold when JG asked her how she could become the Highest Head Cook. The murder of JG’s mother hardened Han’s heart for those with a desire for power and she misunderstood JG’s ambition, keeping a strict attitude towards her. Over years of stringent standards and discipline JG actually came out on top of the other girls in creativity and dedication of her culinary skills. A series of events occurs showing Han and JG as the greatest potential rivals to Choi and Gum Ying for the position of highest power in the imperial kitchen. In particular, the mutual respect between JG and Gum Ying is severed when Gum Ying was forced to make JG the scapegoat of her crime. Their relationship further soured after Gum Ying found out the closeness between JG and Min Jung-ho.

JG and Han comes out on top and Han is made the Highest Head Cook of the imperial kitchen despite facing impossible odds. However none of the success could compare to Han’s true joy when she finally discovered the close bond between her and JG - and through many years of regret and pining for JG’s mother, her best friend had ‘brought’ her daughter to be by her side all this time. They soon realize the Choi clan had been behind JG’s parents deaths. Unfortunately Choi Shang Gong and Gum Ying also find out their bond and desperately think of ways to rid them in order bury the past forever (to cover up the unauthorized killing of a gong nu). Their opportunity comes as the King falls seriously ill after eating a duck dish made by Han and JG on one of his trips outside the palace. Han and JG are wrongly accused of trying to poison the King and is charged with high treason. With Min Jung-ho’s help their death penalty is wavered but they are sentenced as servants on a remote island.

Due to the harsh interrogation process they suffered and the grueling journey to the island Han Shang Gong dies on the way. Overcome by grief, JG attempts multiple times to escape not wanting to spend the rest of her life virtually as a prisoner. Feeling guilty at his own uselessness Min Jung-ho quits his position to find JG at the island. He convinces her to stay and look for a way. She finds the way by becoming a doctor, only as a recognized physician can she hope to return to the palace. And so with Min Jung-ho cheering her all the way, support from her adopted parents and the guidance of new friends she battles her way back into the palace and confronts her nemeses. However, in the years she had left, Choi Shang Gong and Geum-young had become powerful whilst the friends she left had been ostracized because of their connection. The storyline becomes further complicated by power struggles within the royal family and the break out of plagues and diseases. The bond between JG and Min Jung-ho clearly blossoms into something more than mutual admiration. JG manages to bring justice by restoring her mother’s and Han Shang Gong’s names whilst ending the Choi family’s hold on power and demolishing the corrupt power network within the palace. The Choi family is scattered, Choi Shang Gong dies (arguably suicide) and Geum-young banished from the capital.

Peace does not last long and soon JG’s status makes her a useful pawn in the deadly game for power. JG decides she wants to be a doctor who helps people and would not waver from it even if it meant certain death. Upon hearing this King placed his personal trust in JG and found comfort talking to her as a confidante. He wished to appoint her as his personal doctor (unheard of in those days) but faced strenuous opposition. The controversy escalated till there was strong pressure for JG to be made the King’s concubine. By this time the King had truly fallen in love with her and is upset to find the reciprocated feelings between JG and Min Jung-ho. In the end the King spares JG from becoming one of his wives but keeps her by his side as his physician and is forced to put Min Jung-ho in exile. Painful years go by as JG looks after the King under the ever disapproving eyes of the court officials. Sadly due to hereditary weaknesses and old age the King’s health steadily deteriorates and despite JG’s best efforts he dies. Before he died, the King had JG sent to where Min Jung-ho was as he knew he had no power to protect her after he was gone.

Just like her parents, JG and Min Jung-ho become fugitives as JG continues to heal the sick around her and they too had a little girl. Then one day they are called back to the palace by the Queen where they are reunited with their friends and restored to their former status. However, both of them decide they prefer simple and happy lives outside of politics where JG had free will to help the needy and finally they leave the palace.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
2002
 
2009-10-04 00:59:11 asianmel
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
asianmel Reviewed by asianmel    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Yankumi's Journey

This is the story of the newly graduated and 23 years old Kumiko Yamaguchi who wants to make a mark, the Japanese educational system as a teacher. She is raised by her grandfather because her parents died when she was young. Her grandfather is the head of one of the most powerful old-school Yakuza families. And the hijinks ensue (most involve her slipping into her yakuza mannerisms at the wrong times, then having to talk her way out of it). Her father is a teacher, she follow what is her fathers career because she dream to be like him that is why she finish as a teacher and very proud of it. Kumiko Yamaguchi seems to be a serious person because of her silver glasses and her out-of-date hairstyle. Yankumi was stick and assigned to teach an all boys high school which is the Shirakin highschool class 3D where all evil students are there, troublemakers, rabble-rousers, and very wild, and Shin is the leader of the group. In the first hour of her class, the class tries to annoy her in every way, but that doesn't work for Yankumi since she is an only daughter of Ninkyoichi family (an old famous family since Edo) Hearing the name, the crying child will stop crying !!! She was raised among guys like Yakuza so Yankumi is tough enough for those kids... Her life as a teacher in Shikarin high school has begun......The ruffians at the school don't frighten her though for she has a secret of her own-she's a fourth generation crime syndicate member and next in line to head it up. She's gone straight and wants to be a teacher though, but she's one person in whose class you don't want to be caught fooling around! Her class always caught to begun fighting but unfortunately they are the one starting the fight, it is their rivalry. She can't help watching that her class always suspected by their principal that the one who start the fight was the 3-D. So, Yankumi make a move and prove that her class was not the who start the fight, until such time that she always protect her class when it is in trouble. The class trust Yankumi, until they graduated their High School life and thanking Yankumi's effort for protecting them and teaching them the right path or the way to a new journey. Yankumi is very happy that her class at last graduated.

Note: Yankumi's journey is still going on and teaches High School student in a different school............lifes going on......................

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2006
 
2009-10-04 00:58:35 asianmel
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
asianmel Reviewed by asianmel    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

The Snow Queen

The opening starts with the introduction of a genius. At 17, Tae Woong (Hyun Bin) meets two people who will later become people he loves. One becomes his best friend and the other, his love.

The guy he meets is Kim Jeong Kyu (Lee Sun Ho) also classified as a genius, and though at first they did not get along, they soon set aside their differences and became best friends. Jeong Kyu tells Tae Woong about a girl he admires and promises to introduce him to her. When Tae Woong asks him why Jeong Kyu won't ask the girl out himself, Jeong Kyu says that he doesn't have time if he wants to win the award in math for the Nobel Peace Prize; his dad's dream and his.

Tae Woong meets a little girl being bullied by older girls for her money and saves her. The girl develops a crush on him and gives him her beeper for future contact. She later contacts him and he finds out that she was running away from home, and for a day the two run away together to an amusement park. She gets into a cab to go home but reminds Tae Woong that he never found out her name.

Later on, Tae Woong and Jeong Kyu both enter an international math Olympiad that Jeong Kyu and his father want to win badly. When Tae Woong wins, Jeong Kyu commits suicide.

The following tragic events soon took its toll on the rest of Tae Woong's life, and forgets about ever set a date to meet the little girl. Then, for 8 years he struggled to carry on with his life.

At 25, Tae Woong is now a third class boxer and in unexpected events, finds Bo Ra (Sung Yu Ri), the little girl he once knew.

The tale continues into the world of the cold-hearted Bo Ra and it is only Tae Woong that could possibly melt her heart. It slowly unfolds many secrets along the way and the past is soon to be made right again. With the help of Tae Woong's love, Bo Ra learns to find happiness within herself, and in return, Tae Woong comes into terms with his past.

Although this winter will be very cold and scary, winter is not the end of the seasons, but the beginning of the hope for a greater love.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
6 results - showing 1 - 6

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

Dal Ja's Spring
User rating
 
8.4 (2)
Dae Jang Geum
User rating
 
9.8 (2)
Mars
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
Nine Tailed Fox
User rating
 
8.6 (2)
Fated To Love You
User rating
 
9.4 (6)