Reviews written by Dramarater

5 results - showing 1 - 5
 
2007
 
2009-10-04 00:53:11 Dramarater
Overall rating 
 
8.3
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
Dramarater Reviewed by Dramarater    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Hotaru no Hikari Review

I was searching for a fun, light-hearted, short romantic comedy, and I found everything that I was looking for in this drama.

Story: The story line of this drama was alright. It was quite humorous on several occasions, and kept me chuckling throughout the ten episodes. There was, however, not as much romance as I had expected. I think that the directors could have taken a more intimate angle on some of the scenes, but other than that, there were few problems that I had with the storyline. The ending, however, disappointed me. In my opinion, it wasn't conclusive enough, and simply bugged me to no end.

Acting: The acting was alright. Most of the parts were played pretty well, but there were one or two roles that could have been cast with better actors.

Music: The music in this series was exceptional. It always fit the mood and setting, and the opening and closing themes were perfect for this drama. I personally had a fondness for the opening thing. And quite frankly, it reminded me of Super Mario Galaxy. ^__^ I wouldn't change a thing regarding the music in this series.

Satisfaction: I'd say that this drama was worth watching. It isn't the best drama that I've ever seen, but it was charming, and kept me occupied. It felt slow at some parts, but not enough to make me want to stop watching. Overall, I am fairly satisfied with this drama, and I think that anyone interested in a comedy drama, but doesn't have the time to start a long series, should try their hand at this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2008
 
2009-10-04 00:52:41 Dramarater
Overall rating 
 
7.5
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
Dramarater Reviewed by Dramarater    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

One Pound Gospel Review

I usually prefer to review dramas immediately after I've finished them. I finished this some time ago, so it's not fresh in my mind.

Story: The story of this drama wasn't bad. I think this was one of the first Japanese dramas that I had ever seen, and I only watched it because it was recommended to me. I remember that I liked it because I'm actually a fan of boxing. And food. And this had both. =) But now that I think back, the story was really simple, and it didn't really move very much as the series went on. It's barely an eight. More a seven point five.

Acting: I don't really remember the acting, meaning that it didn't stand out to me in any way. One thing I do remember was that it felt somewhat unnatural, and the characters weren't very believable.

Music: I've used this excuse before, but I don't remember the music from the drama either, meaning, once again, it didn't make an impression on me. So it gets a seven.

Satisfaction: I know, I've only made criticisms for this drama, but it wasn't horrible. I liked that it was short and sweet. Much of the story was fairly 'cute', and it was a heartwarming tale. I don't know if I'd recommend this to 'experienced drama watchers,' but I think anyone who's starting to watch dramas should definitely watch this. All in all, I'm pretty happy with this, but it was not one of the top dramas I've ever seen.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2007
 
2009-10-04 00:52:09 Dramarater
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
Dramarater Reviewed by Dramarater    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Liar Game Review

This drama was not bad in my opinion, but it did have it's flaws at points.

Story: The storyline of this drama is exceptional. It's unlike any drama I've seen, and I really enjoyed the intellectual puzzle aspect of Liar Game. As I made my way through the series, it reminded me more and more of Death Note. It uses the same type of logic and thought process that Death Note uses... And for obvious reasons. ^_^;

Acting: The acting was not bad in this series. Strangely enough, I went right from Hana Yori Dango to Liar Game, so it was a little bit hard for me to see Matsuda Shota in such a different light. But I do feel that he was ideal for the part, and he played his role very well. Some times, the acting of some of the other actors seemed a little forced, and that's the reason why it only got an eight.

Music: To be honest, the music in the series bugged me quite a bit. I understand that the music was used to increase the suspense and dramatic tension, but I feel that it was overdone slightly, and they could have pulled back on it.

Satisfaction: I was fairly satisfied by this drama. I found that the camera angles jumped around too much, and although it was used to increase the dramatic feel, it became annoying as the series went on. As well, I found that the story become boring at parts. True, it was very suspenseful, and I wanted to know what would happen next, but I found myself stopping periodically. I couldn't make it through some of the parts in one sitting, which is how I usually like to watch dramas.

All in all, this drama wasn't bad. I liked how the story gave the viewer time to think, and how the whole plot was just a puzzle to solve. Unfortunately, I felt that it could have been "put together" better in order to improve this series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2005
 
2009-10-04 00:51:38 Dramarater
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
Dramarater Reviewed by Dramarater    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Hana Yori Dango Review

This drama was pretty good, and I did finish it, which means it didn't bore me to death. >_<

Story: I really felt that the story was nothing special. It was a cute storyline, and I did enjoy what was going on, but it felt standard. It seemed to me like a classic boy-meets-girl type story, and there wasn't really an interesting twist to it. So, it got an eight in my books. Not bad, but not awesome.

Acting: I felt the actors were pretty good at their parts--some were better than others. The casting was pretty good, and I was content with everything.

Music: I liked some of the songs in this, but I felt that they played the same one too many times. In fact, one song was used in almost every episode, and I began to get tired of hearing it in every situation. But that's just me...

Satisfaction: I did enjoy this drama, and it was pretty cute. I've seen both seasons, and I can say that I was happy with it. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes romantic comedies. I've heard that people who like Hana Kimi will like Hana Yori Dango, but I personally don't see the connection between the two.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
2007
 
2009-10-04 00:51:08 Dramarater
Overall rating 
 
8.3
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
Dramarater Reviewed by Dramarater    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -  

Coffee Prince Review

I must admit, this was a fascinating drama to watch. I have a few things to comment on regarding this drama, and how I rated it.

Story: I personally found the story line very appealing, and quite 'cute'. It was a funny drama, and it kept me watching until the end. I also really enjoyed the fact that the main character was a female dressed as a male. XD You can just imagine all the awkward scenarios the poor girl got herself into. Most episodes were very good, and I enjoyed myself until the end. But I must admit, the ending of this series was disappointing in my opinion, which is why I only gave the story a nine.

Acting: The acting was good, and everyone played their parts well. The series was well casted, and the actors were always in character. This was my first Korean drama, so I can't say if someone else would have been more appropriate for the part. For the most part, the acting in this series was not spectacular, but it was very good, earning it an eight in my opinion.

Music: Frankly, I don't really remember the music in this series, which is odd for me. Generally after watching a drama, I have all the songs stuck in my head for a while. The fact that I can't think of any songs that were played means that the music didn't stand out in my mind. Thus, it received a seven.

Satisfaction: I really, REALLY enjoyed this drama. I am completely satisfied by it. Unfortunately, I can't bring myself to give this a ten--it's really hard to achieve a ten in my books. >_<

So, I suggest you watch this drama if you're in the mood for a cute romantic comedy. Although there are several serious aspects to this drama, it's mostly a feel-good type of show, and it kept me smiling for the most part. I found that people who have liked Hana Kimi will most likely enjoy this drama as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
5 results - showing 1 - 5

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

My Boss My Hero
User rating
 
8.5 (2)
Great Teacher Onizuka
User rating
 
9.5 (1)
Densha Otoko
User rating
 
7.1 (4)
Taisetsu na Koto wa Subete Kimi ga Oshiete Kureta
User rating
 
8.3 (1)
Wonderful Life
User rating
 
8.5 (1)