Reviews written by bengalifob

46 results - showing 1 - 20 1 2 3
 
2005
 
2009-10-02 22:29:36 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Still Teary...

My very first Asian drama and it is still at the top of my list! Anyone who is new to Asian drama should definitely put 1 Litre on their list.

Exceptional acting, beautiful dialogues, and one of the most emotional stories out there. Highly recommended to all!

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
2005
 
2009-10-02 22:28:57 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
7.3
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
6.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Maybe I'm biased

I just couldn't comprehend how a beautiful tall woman like Hermes could fall in love with a much shorter and seriously sissy guy like Densha! Yea, I'm biased... Plus I read the manga before watching, which I think did a much better job of the story.

But anyway, both actors did do a great job acting and I just want to mention how I loved Miho as Jinkama! She stole every scene she had and I couldn't help, but die of laughter!

The drama overall isn't bad. I just didn't like the scenes where Densha was in front of the computer. Fast forward those.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2004
 
2009-10-02 22:28:11 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Kai is so cute!

Besides the fact that I'm clearly in love with Kai, I'm also in love with this drama! Kou didn't have many lines (she is deaf and mute), but her expressions and mannerisms were perfect!

I can't imagine anyone else playing the roles in this drama! All the characters are loveable and the story was done quite well with quite a bit of comedy.

There were some parts that could've been taken out and one of the last episodes felt completely different from the overall drama, but the last episode makes up for everything!

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
2007
 
2009-10-02 22:27:38 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Brought down by Hallelujah chance

Story:
Really different way of approaching a story about regrets and it was definitely handled well. The only complaint that I'm sure many will have is that the opening scene of every episode starts to get repetitive and boring.

Acting:
Fantastic acting from all the members who made each character stick out even if their role was limited. Can't think of a single actor messing up.

Music:
Perfect and wonderful to listen to.

Overall:
This drama was really exceptional and although the opening scenes were a disappointment, the whole story in itself was beautiful. The chemistry between the all the characters was incredible and sometimes got me reminiscing about my high school days. Watch it!

PS - the special is coming out soon in 2008. Can't wait! :D

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
2006
 
2009-10-02 22:26:54 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Story 
 
3.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
2.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

A Failed 1 Litre Attempt

I decided to watch this after having seen Erika Sawajiri's fantastic performance in 1 Litre of Tears. Erika's character here is similar to Aya in that she also has an incurable disease that threatens her life.

I'll say it outright: This drama was seriously BORING. No really. It was hell frustrating to watch. I somehow managed to make it to episode 7, but stopped after that. I probably deserve a medal for going that far. :D

Story:
The story could have been good, but the writer and the directors screwed up it seems. The characters they created made no sense especially Kouji and Asami. What made 1 Litre great was that it was a simple and believable story. Whereas this drama attempted to put 10 stories in one!

Acting:
Kudos to the actors for attempting to breathe as much character as possible into their roles. It wasn't them, it was the story...

Music:
The music is definitely noteworthy. Erika Sawajiri even used her character to release the title song!

Overall:
Anyway, a lot of people seemed to like it, but I think those were only the hard core Erika fans. The songs were good though. Don't bother wasting your timing watching this. Grab the soundtrack instead.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2003
 
2009-10-02 22:26:16 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Story 
 
2.0
Acting 
 
4.0
Music 
 
4.0
Satisfaction 
 
3.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Painful to watch

This drama seems to be on a lot of people's top 10 list, so I decided to give it a try.

What a bad decision on my part. I couldn't even get through half of it. Everything seemed to go downhill for me once the older actors came in. I thought the kids were much better than the older actors and I felt their characters (the younger versions) more so than their characters when they are older.

Story:
Very cheesy.

Acting:
Thumbs up to the child actors.

Music:
Nothing noteworthy.

Overall:
I recommend you pass on this drama. Many fans will hate me for this...

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2006
 
2009-10-02 22:25:39 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Sapuri

Story:
The plot is quite original and kept me entertained throughout. It was great to watch each and every character grow.

Acting:
Everyone did a great job especially the actors involved in the father-daughter story. Ito Misaki is really a versatile actress and S. Miho is just awesome!

Music:
Very appropriate and the theme song is quite catchy.

Overall:
I really did like the drama, but there were one or two parts in the series that were dragging. The ending is confusing and it was qutie unnecessary too. Still, it is worth your time and it has just managed to make my favourites list.

Enjoy! ;p
(get it?)

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2006
 
2009-10-02 22:24:59 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

All because of Ken-chan

Story:
Abe Hiroshi plays a 40-year old cynical man who is quite content living alone for the rest of his life. Hilarity ensues once he *ahem* has his but probed... Is he capable of ever marrying someone?

Acting:
The stalker, the best friend, and the girlfriend actors, I felt, brought the drama down. Waste of space/time...

Music:
I really enjoyed the whistling one lol.

Satisfaction:
The drama starts of slow, but as it draws close to the end it becomes really interesting and funny. Although this drama is in the comedy genre, there really aren't many moments were you laugh. However, you do smirk and smile a lot with a few occasional ROFLs.

Watch out for a scene where Abe's underling wears a shirt that says 'pervert' on his sleeve!!! LOL

Decision:
Watch it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2005
 
2009-10-02 22:24:23 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
5.8
Story 
 
5.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
5.0
Satisfaction 
 
6.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Go to Todai!

Story:
Definitely similar to GTO, but still different. The drama was really brought down by the scene involving the chairman and the other teachers who constantly bicker. I ended up fast-forwarding all of that.

Acting:
The main actors were the ones that really really held up this drama. All the actors who had minor roles did very little to support the series. In fact their contribution made the drama worse...

Music:
Background music fits the scenes, but the insert and theme songs are much to talk about. Bored me completely actually...

Overall:
I learnt a lot about how to study. Interesting tidbits about effective studying methods. The series ends well though.

Decision:
Ummm... If you have nothing else to do then try this drama. It's not good, but it's not bad either.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2007
 
2009-10-02 22:23:34 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Prescription for Laughter

Story:
Seriously. I never could've thought that a drama about walls and mountains could be so darned funny!

Acting:
You know the actors did a great job when every character in the drama makes you feel for or against them. It means the actors did their job of making their roles believable. Flawless in every scene.

Music:
The songs and the backgorund music are REALLY GOOD! I especially love the little tune they play when they're about to end the episode!

Overall:
Seriously. I'm not joking. You HAVE to watch this drama!! Truly one of the best comedies out there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2005
 
2009-10-02 22:22:50 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
6.0
Story 
 
4.0
Acting 
 
6.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
6.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Bubbly Mediocrity

The story of this drama isn't all that original. You'll pretty much figure out how the series will go and end once you begin. Seen this type many a times.

In terms of acting, I didn't find anyone outstanding. Everyone was just basically mediocre.

Music was good and overall the series is completely and utterly mediorce. A total blah.

I suggest you skip this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2006
 
2009-10-02 22:22:08 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
6.5
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
5.0
Satisfaction 
 
7.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Lost potential

Story:
Kurosagi is reminiscent of the Hollywood movie 'Catch me if you can', however, the drama's promising start ends in disappointment.

This drama could've been fantastic, but with each episode I found myself forwarding more and more. I also began to be more interested in the love story than the swindling parts. The schemes unfortunately are quite repetitive and boring after the first 5 episodes.

Oh well, at least the romantic aspect was going to save the drama. Right? Wrong.

Acting:
Yamapi's sarcastic approach is great for this role, however, I find that he tends to bring this approach to all his characters. Notice him always using the 'chewing the cheek' approach?

Horikita was amazing as the love interest, but too bad the drama wasn't written well in final episodes...

Also, the police officer actor was really annoying.

Music:
Background music was weird sometimes, but nothing much to comment about.

Overall:
The drama had potential, which went down the drain. Watch to kill time.

PS - Yoshida's best friend is so evil. Can't believe them in the end! "With friends like this, who needs enemies." --> i think this quote applies here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2005
 
2009-10-02 22:20:55 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

AKIRA Shock

Story:
Your run-of-the-mill high school story about being unsure about the future, making good friends, and having no regrets. All that blah with a mystery twist and plenty of memorable quotes.

Acting:
I seriously think this drama only did well because of the actors. Without their wonderful performance this drama would've been completely dry because admit it; the story isn't that great.

Music:
This another thing that really helped the drama. The music was outstanding! From beginning to end it was the music and the actors that were able to make this otherwise boring story into the fad that it became.

Overall:
The drama definitely is a good one, but only because of the above stated reasons. Not on my favourites list. Still worth the watch.

Watch it for the exceptionally cute and legendary AKIRA and his list of infamous quotes. Kon kon! ^.^

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2006
 
2009-10-02 21:42:54 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Story 
 
3.0
Acting 
 
6.0
Music 
 
6.0
Satisfaction 
 
5.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Mayfish far from good

Story:
Completely unoriginal. Absolutely uninspiring in every way possible. If they had at least shown more than 2 cool dance routines then maybe I'd give higher marks, but they didn't. The side stories are also really boring except maybe the one involving the teacher. The teacher's story gets more interesting. Mind you, don't expect that story to blow you away or anything.

Acting:
Yes... I guess they did okay. I frankly liked the karate girl and girl with glasses best. Everyone else was pretty boring. Although it wasn't completely their fault since the characters don't really change in terms of personality.

Music:
Background score wasn't appealing. Quite forgettable.

Overall:
Pass on it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
1997
 
2009-10-02 21:42:12 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
8.3
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
7.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Dull Middle

Story:
It really is a good romantic story about a guy who just can't seem to get over his first love. The drama starts off really well, but somewhere around episode 6 it really becomes draggy. The final 2 episodes did an okay job of wrapping it up. The drama REALLY is great in the beginning so it's really disappointing when something so promising lets you down in the end... (note satisfaction rating)

Acting:
Absolutely superb job from the main actors, the supporting cast however really do much to contribute to the value of the drama. The main leads really do steal the show. The chemistry between them.. wow. They're very cute together.

Music:
Sounds like some 80s music, but its quite good. I liked the ending theme more.

Overall:
I really do recommend this drama even though it becomes quite average after the 6th episode.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2001
 
2009-10-02 21:41:27 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Strawberries first or last?

Story:
From the beginning of the serial you know and are told (every episode) that his love for her is doomed to be unrequited. Thus every episode leaves you asking why? WHY them!!!!? *sigh*

Acting:
The acting wasn't really exemplary by any means. They did the job is really all I can say.

Music:
Being a HUGE ABBA fan perhaps really helped this drama get high marks from me. I simply LOVED it! From start to finish the theme song, background scores, and insert songs were tasteful and beautifully placed. I want to give more than 10 points for this section!

Overall:
This drama has made its way into my heart, so you should have a little taste too. I know you won't give up on this drama until you finish the entire thing! :D

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2004
 
2009-10-02 21:39:47 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Born to love you?!

Story:
This drama is really about the romance with sports = hockey as the backdrop really. The love story isn't really unique, but what makes it beautiful is the amazing chemistry between the two leads. That kitchen scene = wow!

Acting:
As I said above, the leads are perfect and what was even better was that the supporting cast did an awesome job too! The pre-game scenes where the team gathers are really something else. I even got pumped up to win! Win! WIn! WIN!!!!

Music:
umm, the opening theme kinda made me laugh. I'm not a fan of rock music like that, but guess other folks liked it. I did like the background music though especially the one during the sad/romantic scenes.

Overall:
One of the best sports/romance dramas I've seen.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2007
 
2009-10-02 21:39:05 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Life is great!

Story:
Incredibly well developed and told. It had me hooked from the beginning and I'm REALLY hoping there's a second season!

Acting:
This was a cast made up of mostly newcomers and boy did they blow me away! I can't imagine anyone else protraying their characters any better than they did. It felt so REAL!

Music:
Without the music in this series, the drama would've gotten a perfect 10. With the music, this drama is off the charts! From the theme song, to the heavy guitar sounds to the creepy music during the sadist guy's scenes - it was incredible...

Overall:
I want more. Please, I'm serious.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2002
 
2009-10-02 21:38:10 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Fighting is not violence

Story:
Yet another tale of a Yakuza/ gang member going to school in secret... Kind of like GTO, but the drama stands on its own.

Each episode follows pretty much the same format, so it can get boring at times, however the comedy aspect of the drama was done very well. If the drama wasn't funny then I wouldn't have given it more than 5 stars...

Acting:
Nakama Yukie did a FANTASTIC job on her character! There's no doubt that she practically carries the whole drama on her shoulders, and successfully too! The supporting cast did a great job too, but Nakama was just in a league of her own.

Music:
Matched well with the comic theme. You'll notice specific characters have their own tunes.

Satisfaction:
If you're looking for a laugh then go to school with Gokusen. You'll find plenty here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2005
 
2009-10-02 21:37:35 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
7.5
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -  

Pretty Boys

Story:
Bunch of pretty boys being bad until they come across the girl that would change everything. Heard it before? Probably.

Acting:
The guys did a great job modeling, but acting wise they were all average.

Music:
Well done. I love the Otsuka Ai's song, "Planetarium"

Overall:
Meh. I don't why everyone loves this drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
46 results - showing 1 - 20 1 2 3

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

Pride
User rating
 
9.0 (2)
Hanazakari no Kimitachi e
User rating
 
10.0 (5)
Winter Sonata
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Hana Kimi
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Thorn Birds
User rating
 
8.3 (1)