Reviews written by neekyh

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
2005
 
2010-07-06 21:47:12 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
7.5
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    July 06, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Unrealistic but Catching

It's rare for a drama so unrealistic to be catching, but Devil Beside You succeeds. Originally based off a manga, the plot delivers and overwhelmingly positive experience with charming actors and a storyline that allows you to rewatch the series again and again. Fans of TWDramas based off of mangas will really enjoy this, but those who prefer something more realistic may only like it as a passing fancy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
2007
 
2010-07-06 21:34:42 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    July 06, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Strong Characters and Chemistry

This drama does not have many traditional romantic moments with heart-pounding kisses and embraces - Corner With Love goes with a more subtle chemistry which captures the viewers interest. The acting is superb and the main female lead a wonderful example of a non-traditional character who really grows as a person. A true romantic comedy with great direction. A must see.

Was this review helpful to you? 
02
Report this review
2005
 
2010-07-06 21:30:39 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    July 06, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

TWDrama Classic!

An instant classic that defines how dramas should be. Years ago while browsing Youtube I accidentally viewed the first few minutes of this drama without subtitles. I was so upset that I could not continue watching; and when I finally managed to track down subtitles I was quick enchanted by the story which features well done conventions, charming acting, and satisfaction for the viewer despite a few draggy portions of the series. You cannot miss It Started With a Kiss... at all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
2004
 
2010-07-06 21:21:33 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
7.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    July 06, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Heartbreaking and Heartwarming

Silly and tragic, Windstruck is a movie that will touch the heart of many. Though it takes awhile to set up, the ending is breathtaking and viewers will not regret sitting through the movie and come away with a sense of completion despite the emotionally charged ending. An instant classic and suitable for viewers worldwide.

Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
2008
 
2010-07-06 20:57:31 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Story 
 
4.0
Acting 
 
6.0
Music 
 
4.0
Satisfaction 
 
3.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    July 06, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

A Disappointing Retelling of a Classic Love Story

Disappointing despite it's promising premise, this rendition of the tale falls short on just about every level. While the fighting scenes are both believable and enjoyable the romance is too quick, the plot laid in a confusing manner, and the special effect butterflies too silly to take seriously. Unless viewers like romance and wuxia, most should just stay clear... this movie is lacking of serious entertainment value.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
2009
 
2010-07-06 04:15:04 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    July 06, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

A Wonderful Rendition of a Manga Classic

Another great rendition of the manga classic, the Korean Boys Before Flowers does not disappoint, laying place a very rich storyline with luxurious stages. Casting is spot on, especially in the case of Goo Joon Pyo played by Lee Mino Ho, who carries the drama even when it begins to dull in the final episodes and is perhaps one of the best kdrama characters yet. Viewers will not want to miss this astounding drama, so check it out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
2010
 
2010-06-22 02:39:00 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
6.5
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
6.0
Satisfaction 
 
6.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    June 22, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

A Fair Drama with a Kitsch Romantic Flair

A fair drama with a different romantic flair can be found in Personal Taste. Park Kae In is the trusting and foolish daughter of a famous architect though she is a failure as a furniture maker. Following an emotionally tragic event Kae In sublets a room in her private home to Jeon Jin Ho, who she believes to be gay. But the reasons for Jin Ho seeking boarding are dishonest; he is only masquerading as a gay man as a means to further his own career in an architect bid.

But despite both characters' personal failings and some hilarious and upsetting circumstances Kae In and Jin Ho soon find themselves falling for each other. Whether or not they can turn their tumultuous relationship to a romantic affair is the core element of this mildly entertaining drama.

Characterization is strong and the acting believable, but the love rival for Jin Ho's affections is a stereotypical witch whom is not engaging in the least and weakened subplots by being too unbelievable and not being used effectively.

The plot itself is strong but relying too much upon Jin Ho's pretense as a gay man to carry the story. Without that added bit the drama would have been too run of the mill for most to care about checking out. But despite Jin Ho's sexual orientation being “important” it was never the strong conflict viewers would expect, and not enough funny and tragic moments resulting from it.

Execution of Personal Taste left something to be desired. Overall this drama is lacking; too many missing components or pieces weak.

But drama fiends should still check it out and see if it works as a storyline they could get involved in. While viewers may not re-watch it many times or buy it on DVD most will enjoy the first time. This drama is a bit different and may provide 16 odd hours of fair entertainment. Overall, I'd recommend someone to check Personal Taste out but I would not say it is a must watch despite the promising premise.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
2008
 
2010-06-21 04:06:23 neekyh
Overall rating 
 
7.5
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
5.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
neekyh Reviewed by neekyh    June 21, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Culturally and Entertainingly Pleasing

Culturally and entertainingly pleasing, When It's at Night follows an inspector of the Korean Cultural Heritage Administration, Heo Cho Hwi, as she struggles to right the wrongs of her treasure-hunting father and return the items he stole back to the country. Her job becomes bumbled by the introduction of Kim Bum Sang into her working life, a womanizing art expert whom she clashes with from case to case. This drama has a special air which will entice viewers who desire something more out of their romantic comedy.

Unlike most dramas in its genre, When It's At Night does not center around the main romance, but rather the reclaiming of cultural treasures and Heo Cho Hwi's desire to do good in place of her father. This diversion is an exciting hook which viewers will enjoy, and American drama fiends may even link similarities to their own national shows to the story where romance very rarely plays a key part. Its execution seems very Hollywood because of this, but not in a way in which one feels let down. The relationships themselves seem very believable, and traits often found in romantic comedies are present here... if a bit toned down.

The characters are solid, though the main character Heo Cho Hwi may grate on the nerves of some. There seems to be a bit of an inconsistency in her abilities throughout the show; in the beginning we see her capability in getting past security defenses in the museum, but later in the same episode and throughout the series she seems much weaker and people step in to help her all the time when she should be perfectly capable to do it herself. That said, Kim Sun Ah portrays the character very well and her acting is very believable, but perhaps not as good as her portrayal of the title character in My Lovely Sam Soon. This may be due to the overall weakness of the main character who did not have as powerful characterization.

The main male lead, Kim Bum Sang, is a flirtatious player. His character is at times criminal but without being evil, giving him an interesting dynamic refreshing in a male lead especially because of how his actions provide a catalyst to the story. He seems consistent, even though his womanizing ways were only briefly touched upon despite being a major facet of his character. There was never really another love interest for Kim Bum Sang to pursue. I found this a bit odd, because most dramas have this and he is a player. But I assume that one never appeared because he was never serious about anyone before Heo Cho Hwi. I really enjoyed Lee Dong Gun's acting in this, even though I seemed to not like him very much in Sang Doo, Let's Go to School.

The chemistry between the two leads was not as strong as I would have liked it to be, and fell short in some areas. Watching the drama I can't really imagine the two continuing their relationship because the representation of it in the drama was so weak that one could assume any kind of ending after the finale, even a negative one. Even so, viewers might still like the weaker romantic dynamic in favor of a stronger plot and this does allow for more imagination as to how they would interact past the story itself. Even though the final few minutes of the show were a bit... pointless and not as well done the final moment between Heo Cho Hwi and Kim Bum Sang was well done.

The rest of the cast were very good; Kang Shi Wan who played the chief in the investigations team was an interesting love rival for Heo Cho Hwi's affection from Kim Bum Sang. His characterization was perhaps the most realistic and his facial expressions telling, and not at one point did his personality suffer from poor writing.

My favorite character was Wang Joo Hyun, who... in the first episode appeared to be the typical snooty love rival against Heo Cho Hwi. But she quickly evolved and her antics were very entertaining; Kim Bum Sang was never interested in her so she was never really a rival, even though she thought so for quite a long time. Her narcissism is unlike most representations of it in dramas today and writers should take note on how a rival should be written both in her case and in Kang Shi Wan's. Though she really was not a rival at all even though that was the writer's "intention". Her interactions with others were generally pleasing and the subplot between her and Kang Shi wan worth it.

Although Kim Bum Sang's career rival was too flat for anyone's liking and the show would have done better without him unless they explored a more dramatic version of Bum Sang's losses mid-series. Other characters, such as the regulations and investigation teams, though secondary characters, well and fitting for the story. The sudden disappearance of one character was a little odd. The villains were not evil at all times, just simply bad people making them interesting.

But of course the story! The cultural theft plot is what really made When It's At Night deserve its rating. Even as a non-native I felt very interested in the snippets of historical fact and cultural references so it is not alienating to foreigners who watch this show. There are not very many twists but the sub-plot of Heo Cho Hwi's father was very emotional and the identity of Robin Hood completely and pleasantly unsuspected.

Quality is great and the more action-packed scenes brilliant. The first episode was particularly good. However, I do not remember anything from the soundtrack so I wonder if the show itself would have been better if I could remember the songs and want to seek them out.

In all, When It's at Night is a great drama with a strong story and unique premise that all drama fans should check out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
8 results - showing 1 - 8

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

My Man's Woman
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
Queen Seon Duk
User rating
 
9.8 (1)
Shining Inheritance
User rating
 
8.3 (1)
Gokusen
User rating
 
9.1 (3)
Attic Cat
User rating
 
8.0 (1)