Most Popular

Latest Reviews

Operation Proposal
 
10.0
Fated To Love You
 
8.0
ToGetHer
 
8.8
Personal Taste
 
8.0
Lunch Queen
 
6.0
Answer Me 1997
 
9.0
Love Recipe
 
8.5
Liar Game
 
9.0
Scent of a Woman
 
7.8
Taisetsu na Koto wa Subete Kimi ga Oshiete Kureta
 
8.3

Latest News

Latest Forum Post

Forum offline
 

Soulmate Soulmate Hot

Soulmate
Network
Episodes
24
Cast
Shin Dong Wook, Lee Soo Kyung, Choi Phillip, Sa Kang, Otani Ryohei, Jang Mi Ae
Release Date
March 13, 2006

“It is easier to stir up a women’s heart than to drink wine.” Dong-wook, a playboy who no one can even dare to follow. “My boyfriend of 5 years!! He is definitely my soulmate!!” Soo-kyung, a girl who only looks at one man like a sunflower; a perfect, pure hearted character. Two people who have never seen each other, and who live on the opposite sides of the world from each other live and love in their own way, but from some point on they start to move towards the same dream and feel the same physiological feelings. Two people who have met by fate in a world full of mixed up fates. Now, the most amazing things, which no one could have ever thought of, start to unfold between the two. -MBC Global

User reviews

Average user rating from: 9 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Story 
 
9.1  (9)
Acting 
 
9.8  (9)
Music 
 
9.9  (9)
Satisfaction 
 
9.1  (9)
 
Soulmate 2011-02-04 14:36:14 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    February 04, 2011
Last updated: February 04, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

This is not a love song, or any ordinary romantic drama for that matter

Ok, so it's been over a year since i've honestly written a drama review, but i recently watched this and just had to comment.

For the longest time my favorite drama list has remained relatively constant.
proposal daisakusen, 1 litre, densha otoko always are topping the list. however, after recent reconsideration, i realized i had to make a change to that list due to my realization of how much i adored certain dramas and lost my initial star-dazzle for others.

that being said, Soulmate is definately one of those that shot high onto my list. it didn't overtake my top 2, but it sits comfortably on my #3 spot, which i can assure you is hard to do.

So waht spurred this?

quite frankly, from the very get go, i was instantly addicted. From the first words singing "this is not a love song", to watching character development that was so amazing i was awestruck, this was definately a keeper. in a year that spawned such titles as Dr. Kkaeng, Goong, Which Star Did you Come From, Spring Waltz, and Unstoppable High Kick, this drama seemingly slipped past the mention of many a drama watcher/reviewer. Why? because the actors were not big name, because the Drama wasn't connected to a famous series like Spring Waltz was. But i will comfortably venture to say that in my own honest opinion, this drama hands down was the best of that year, even better than the almighty Goong.

Very early, the stage was set and you knew there would be a soulmate somewhere, and mildly early, it was set who those would be. Now once established the question was, how would it develop. With seemingly set up relationships that seemed to work, what does soulmate really mean? This drama touches on so many questions about love. Rather than just watch through, you are constantly asking, when will it happen? When will they meet up. As you watch chance after chance pass by, until finally they meet, you are held in your seat wondering, what next? What will happen? As you are taken through the life of several interconnected people, you are left to see how story after story unfolds, as people begin to learn just how well they know each other, and watch as interactions abound.

This drama is the epitome of the saying, don't judge a book by its cover. Looking just at the actor/actress list, you will think "oh no big names, must be a lesser drama". The synopsis you'll find on things like even d-addicts' wiki will not even do it justice. This is the sort of drama you have to see to even begin to comprehend the amazing that it is. This review, and the others on the site will only guide you towards it, but quite honestly, this a such an amazing gem, you can't not watch it.

Story: amazingly thought out, i have rarely seen a story so well planned out from start to finish
Acting: WHERE DID THESE PEOPLE COME FROM? seriously, this was casted so near amazingly and portrayed i was in awe
Music: "This is not a love song", nuff said.
Overall: you cannot call yourself a drama enthusiast without having watched this

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Soulmate 2009-10-03 22:35:30 BOGCHI
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
BOGCHI Reviewed by BOGCHI    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

A very funny drama

I've always brushed off "Soulmate" to the side and kept it lying on the shelf for some time because skimming through it, I didn't find it very interesting or appealing.
First impression:
1.Not a very good looking cast - at first.
2.Mature content - It seemed very Amercanized. Nothing wrong with that, but if I wanted to watch something "Americanized" I would have just turned on the TV.
3.The couples didn't seem to fit - No chemistry at all.... in a glance.
BUT after watching the first episode, I was hooked. In one episode, the characters grew on me, it turned out that it wasn't as sexified and thoughtless as I thought it was going to be, and the couples that I thought were the leads were not the.. "Soulmate."
After watching this 24 episode "sitcom" (30 minutes each), I thought it was one of the best Korean romantic-comedy miniseries I've seen.

STORY - Soulmate was basically about 6.. well.. 8 people's love story, presented in a very comical way. Lot's of characters=lot's of side stories. There was pretty much 2 main stories, one with a couple in a relationship of 5 years slowly breaking apart, and another about a couple starting to blossom.
What I really liked about this drama is that the story had what you call DIRECTION. Watching this drama, you could tell that this drama was well planned because of the way the story flowed. No unpleasant surprises or crazy twists that doesn't even flow with the story, but just a nice, well written, well produced, and well acted drama. (A little spoiler) The two leads of this drama actually meets a lot later than usual, yet, it doesn't get boring at all. In fact, it was one of the reason that made this drama so aniticipating.
The comedy in this drama worked well, it had a nice mix of comedy and romance. It was quite mature, but entertaining otherwise.
The only thing I didn't really like about this drama was that it didn't seem to have had enough scenes between the two main leads. They spent too much time building up the side stories, thus not giving enough air time for the two "Soulmates," but I guess it was forgivable.. even though Dong Wook (main guy) and Yujin (support) didn't seem to have any chemistry, they sure gave a lot of laugh.

ACTING - I've already said that it was a well acted drama. I don't understand why these actors aren't the face of the new Korean dramas coming out today. LSK didn't seem "leading lady" material at first, but she definitely proved herself throughout that drama. SDW did a convincing performance. Shin Min-Ae (the hot girl) wasn't believable at all, at first, because I didn't think she had the looks, but her charisma lit up the screen. Together.. Philip, Sa Kang, Ryo, MiJin.. they all really had chemistry.

MUSIC - This drama has one of the best soundtrack in k-drama history. The song selection was very hip, which fits perfectly for this hip, trendy drama.

Overall, I have nothing but praises for this drama. It really surprised me on how good it is, it was definitely unexpected. If you like a good romantic-comedy.. this is definitely a MUST watch.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Soulmate 2009-10-02 19:18:59 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

You are fated to watch this!

Story:
I really don't think the synopsis does justice to the drama, but I can't think of anything better. The drama explores the concept of a soulmate and it does fairly well. Like mentioned before, this drama defintely had a direction, which is quite clear from the beginning to the end.

If this drama looks like its serious then don't be fooled because the comedy in this is just incredible! It's a perfect mix of comedy, romance, and just drama.

One thing that I felt was a bit disappointing was that the drama was too short. An extra one or two episodes should've been dedicated to the main soulmates because we just don't get to see them together long enough. I won't take off marks because I think the directors wanted to show us that the two soulmates don't need time to get to know each other since they're soulmates, which means they've known each other forever. SDW says that in the drama too.


Acting:
I thought everyone was fantastic and hot! You really end up loving or hating the characters. I especially loved Min-ae, Yu-jin, LSK's brother, LSK, and SDW. Ryohei could've been a little less stiff, but he acts well when he's with Min-ae. ;D


Music:
I don't think there will be anyone who WON'T like the music. It's catchy, fresh, trendy, and definitely eclectic. Every song selected had a purpose in the drama. I downloaded them and am currently ...addicted.


Overall:
I have to say that this is probably the best k-drama I've watched so far. It is along the lines of Orange Days and One Litre of Tears. I really recommend that you watch this! I know it will end up in your top dramas list. :D

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
 

Search

Category:    Network:    
Release Date:    Episodes:    
Genres: Keywords:   

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

Silence
User rating
 
10.0 (2)
Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
The Snow Queen
User rating
 
9.8 (2)
Akihabara@DEEP
User rating
 
7.8 (1)
Kimi wa Petto
User rating
 
8.8 (1)