Most Popular

Latest Reviews

Operation Proposal
 
10.0
Fated To Love You
 
8.0
ToGetHer
 
8.8
Personal Taste
 
8.0
Lunch Queen
 
6.0
Answer Me 1997
 
9.0
Love Recipe
 
8.5
Liar Game
 
9.0
Scent of a Woman
 
7.8
Taisetsu na Koto wa Subete Kimi ga Oshiete Kureta
 
8.3

Latest News

Latest Forum Post

Forum offline
Dramas Japanese Doramas 2005 1 Liter of Tears
 

1 Liter of Tears 1 Liter of Tears Featured Hot

1 Liter of Tears
Network
Episodes
11
Also Knows As
Ichi Rittoru no Namida
Directed by
Murakami Masanori
Written by
Egashira Michiru, Ooshima Satomi, Yokota Rie
Producer
Kashikawa Satoko
Cast
Sawajiri Erika, Yakushimaru Hiroko, Nishikido Ryo, Jinnai Takanori, Narumi Riko
Release Date
October 11, 2005

This beautifully moving drama is based on the real-life struggles of a 15-year-old girl named Aya who suffered from an incurable disease, but lived life to the fullest until her death at 25. The script is based on the diary Aya kept writing until she could no longer hold a pen. The book that later followed entitled “One Litre of Tears" has sold over 1.1 million copies in Japan alone. Aya's only wish was “to live." By carefully depicting Aya's earnest desire to live, and the love of her family, friends, and lover, the drama, “One Litre of Tears" wishes to deliver her simple but strong message: “Just being alive is such a lovely and wonderful thing."

User reviews

Average user rating from: 14 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
9.9
Story 
 
9.9  (14)
Acting 
 
9.9  (14)
Music 
 
9.9  (14)
Satisfaction 
 
9.9  (14)
 
1 Liter of Tears 2011-11-10 11:45:38 RAJIN90
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
RAJIN90 Reviewed by RAJIN90    November 10, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

MY FIRST ASIAN DRAMA AND THE BEST ONE THE MASTERPIECE

this is the first JAPANESE DRAMA i ever watched . FIRST ASIAN drama i ever watched .

this dorama change life . i think everyone felt the same . it just erase your practical life illusion and help you check and see how much beautiful and previous life is .

its every episode teach you many things . it not only entertain you but encourage you motivate your inspire you influence you .

i drink less water that's why i didn't shed many tears but i really felt emotional in every episode.

i don't think this is tragedy or romance . it is live portrayal of life and the the thing which make us all humans.

i recommend everyone to watch this DORAMA .
these are 1000's of shows in this human world and we all waste many hours on them but this MASTERPIECE is worth any time.

i completed its 8th episode in more than 15 hours . i was emotional and complete the series in 2 weeks .

so who want to cry . so those who wish to pour their feelings out .
so,those who are unable to feel the warmth of bonds watch this
and you will learn how much your loved one's love you

i am a new member here and this is my 1st review

i have series FRIENDS already on my desk . i will review it 2nd

everything was perfect in this DORAMA .

ACTING DIRECTION EMOTIONAL FEELINGS MOMENTS SPARK OF SPIRITUAL LOVE

that is why i gave it 10 STARS 10 out of 10 .

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2010-03-06 17:22:27 cutelilflip14
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
cutelilflip14 Reviewed by cutelilflip14    March 06, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

One Liter of Tears = Amazing

I actually never like japanese dramas but this is just amazing. It easily became one of my favorites. It's a really good movie to get you to think about how great your life is, just being alive.

A MUST SEE!!!!! :D

Was this review helpful to you? 
40
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-04 02:04:00 yuriko
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
yuriko Reviewed by yuriko    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

of all western and asian dramas....

of all western and asian dramas i have seen, this was the only one that made a big impact on my life...
very touching... the lead actress portrayed the role of aya perfectly...

thumbs up!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-04 01:58:23 Joseki101
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
Joseki101 Reviewed by Joseki101    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

One of the brightest, most perfect gems

A short review cannot do justice to the magnificent achievement of this drama. It is profoundly satisfying in terms of acting, content, dialogue, subject treatment, and depth of feeling and presentation.

Most will be familiar with the profoundly sad, yet heartachingly courageous, story of the character's real-life counterpart: an ordinary girl, living an ordinary life, "chosen" by a cruel and extraordinary disease. Ikeuchi Aya is based on the real life diary "1 Litre of Tears", a painful chronicle of one girl's gradual deterioration and excrutiatingly slow death to a neurodegenerative disorder.

Translating this diary to the screen is fraught with potential problems: one must do serious justice to the pain and tragedy of the story. One must not be afraid to cry and dream with the real sentiments of the characters. One must accept that hope, even in the face of hopelessness, is the only real choice. One must acknowledge that life is precious, and that the heart speaks its own language, even when the mouth shuts and hands go still.

But the producers, actors, and everyone else involved in this project succeeded perfectly. This is an enormously powerful documentary, full of life and tragedy, that leads us through the words and struggles of Aya as, day by day, she loses pieces of her self.

Nothing is spared in the process: we see the range of responses to Aya's long, slow goodbye -- the initial courage, but later fatigue; the attempts at humour; the cold, clinical mood of doctors; the heartless glances of gossips; the general discrimination of society towards the disabled. But Aya, magnificently portrayed, brings a mixture of courage and fear to each and every day, trying to make the most of whatever abilities she has in the present moment.

Like all Japanese dramas, some stock characterization is evident: the angelic and sacrificial mother, the aloof and enigmatic boy-hero who proves to be truly loyal, and the jokester father. But where this drama succeeds so perfectly is the brilliant interpolation from the real Aya's diaries: the words, examples, and deeds are part the work of screenwriters, but mostly the true and authentic words of the sick Aya. The script moves magnificently between the various moods of tragic and heroic that a life-threatening illness bring out in both the one suffering, and those who suffer with her. It is impossible, or was for me, to get through an episode without shedding pure tears of awareness.

Aya's diary has sold over 18 million copies -- for someone who frequently hoped that, despite her severe handicap, she could help people -- she continues to help people.

This drama deserves the highest praise for its sensitive, and sentimental, touch in truly commemorating the life of Aya--her words which thrive on with such power. A faultless piece of true entertainment and enlightenment. This drama will change lives. It changed mine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
150
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-04 01:49:42 Cerise
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
Cerise Reviewed by Cerise    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Heartbreakingly Beautiful

No amount of words I write would be able to do this drama justice, but here I go:

This drama is based on the diary of Aya Kitou who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with spinocerebellar degeneration, an incurable degenerative disease where the body slowly loses it's ability to physically function, whereas the it's mental capabilities are unharmed.

This drama depicts how her family and herself deals with the disease. The story itself isn't extremely original as far as dramas go, but the way it was executed that makes the drama so special. The desire to be strong for everyone else, the feeling of helplessness of a mother, even the little problems that her siblings had to deal with were portrayed in such a way that truly touches your heart.

It's a drama that really makes you rethink your own life. It makes you appreciate what you have while making you wonder if your own family would react and deal with the situation the same way if it were to occur.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-04 01:30:39 eunyang
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
eunyang Reviewed by eunyang    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

LIVE ON FOREVER

LIVE ON FOREVER!

i will never forget this japanese drama. It's so fantastic. As well as the actors and actress who portray the role. the diary that she wrote is really great. i want her hopes! she never give up. and she stay strong. i love the way they made this drama. so thrilling. really heart whelming! YOU WILL CRY A LITRE OF TEARS :((

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-04 01:23:39 Yurisa1245
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
Yurisa1245 Reviewed by Yurisa1245    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

My favourite Drama of all times!!

Since about a year now this is my favourite Drama.
At first i hesitated to start it, because i thought it will be really despressing. But it wasnt depressing at all! Sure its sad and i cried a lot of times, but its as beautiful as it is sad.
I appreciate my family and my health much more since i watched this drama and it changed my view on many things. Especially because of the quotes from ayas diary. This quotes really stuck in my head. For Example: Whats wrong with falling down? You can always stand up again. If you look up at the sky after falling down, even today, the blue sky stretches limilessly and smiles at you. I'm Alive"

The cast was great as well. Since i watched it I became a big fan of nishikido Ryo and Sawajiri Erika. they both acted so well. But they are not the only ones. The mother, the father, the sister Ako and all the other acted really outstanding.
In my opinion Nishikido Ryo is the actor who cries the best. It really seemed realistic and not so artificial like some other actors.

I thpught, since the ending was clear, i wouldnt want to watch it through till the end, but after every episode i wanted to watch more and more and it resulted in me finishing this drama in 2 days.

The Soundtrack was perfect and the pieces really fitted this drama. Especially the choir song Sangatsu kokonoka and Konayuki, both from Remioromen, suited the scenes. Everytime i hear Konayuki or the piano version of it, i think of Aya and Asou. I really liked their pairing, but i think it was the irght amount of romance in it. Since this drama focused on Kitou Ayas Life and not the relationship between Asou and Aya.

All in All its a really touching drama that will make you cry or at least feel sad. But on the other hand there will be very beautiful moments in the family and between Aya and Asou. Adn even though its a sad ending, i was satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-04 00:57:09 lunamoon87
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
lunamoon87 Reviewed by lunamoon87    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Such an emotional drama...

I absolutely loved this drama! It was so inspirational and emotional at the same time.

The story, which is based on true events, is so relatable and follows the life of this strong girl. I felt that the storyline stayed interested throughout the entire drama.

Every actor did a terrific job! Sawajiri Erika did an amazing job with taking on the character of Aya, who began to experience problems walking and speaking. It was very convincing to me. Her parents (Yakushimaru Hiroko and Jinnai Takanori) acted so well, as they showed nothing but love and support for their daughter. And Nishikido Ryo played a wonderful character, who expressed tough and soft personalities.

The music matched perfectly and was very heart-warming!

What I especially loved about this drama, was that they incorporated quotes from Aya Kito's diary into each episode, along with a collage of personal photos. This added a special touch to the drama, which kept reminding me that these events actually happened.

To Sum Up! A must-watch drama, it will touch you in some way and remind you just how precious family, friends, and time really are.

Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-03 23:41:11 pnaikween
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
pnaikween Reviewed by pnaikween    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

AWESOME DRAMA!!

One of the best Asian dramas I’ve seen by far, it actually beat my very first best drama on my list which was Loveholic.
1 Litre of Tears – wasn’t as what I expected, I had so many mixed reviews about it, some are exaggerated comments about it, so I had to see it myself. At the very beginning, I already shed tears considering Aya found out about her disease and having your parents not telling you anything about it.
The middle part of the drama was a bit dragged and long but this drama didn’t even let me fast forward not even one bit!! I was that focused I didn’t want to missed anything. (We all know this was based on a true story, I find true story movies are very interesting, but the rest of it my tears just won’t stop).
I really really love this drama, to me it’s not only it educated me about the Spinocerebellar ataxia it also tells me how important life is, normal, abnormal, straight, gay. We are all humans and we do feel the same pain whenever we are hurt. We feel grateful whenever we are love by the people that surrounds us.
Aya’s family is a great example for all the families out there. No matter what situation they get into they are always there for each other, they might have been a slightly misunderstanding to one another, they never quarrel instead they try to understand it and talk about it.
TOTALLY RECOMMENDED for everyone!! ?

Note for Erica – she did an awesome job here; it looks like she researched about the disease thoroughly.

Love the main theme song too!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-03 23:32:04 everlasting_love
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
everlasting_love Reviewed by everlasting_love    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Life-changing

Story - Aya's life is awesome. Her story is so inspiring and like i said, it's definitely life-changing. You will surely be moved by Aya's word and how she fought to live. I believe words cannot describe how I feel after I watched this drama.

Acting - Sugoii. I think all of the characters fit their role. Erika Sawajiri (aya) portrayed her role very well. As well as Ry? Nishikido and so on. Overall, everyone did well. Touched the audience well too.

Music - K's Only Human is the saddest song i heard so far. The rhythm and the lyrics are so meaningful. The othere OST's also fits the drama.

Satisfaction - very
very
very satisfied.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-03 22:33:18 BOGCHI
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
BOGCHI Reviewed by BOGCHI    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Life Altering

STORY - The story is about a 15 year old girl who was struck by an incurable disease (based on a true story) and shows how it slowly changed her life. It shows how her family and friends supported her, her love interest (which was fiction), and how she dealt with the disease.

At first this drama starts out slow, but it's understandable because this is a melodrama. Once you get to the middle and the end, you'll probably won't be able to read the subtitles because your eyes are all covered up with tears.

The title is just too perfect for this drama. Although I didn't cry a liter of tears (but touched me big time), I'm sure if someone was sensitive enough.. it could be possible. The fact that this was somewhat a true story gives it an even bigger "aww" factor.

After watching the first episode, I could careless about the drama and the characters, but I kept watching anyways because of all the good things I've heard about it. Fortunately I stuck to it because it turned out to be a very beautiful, moving drama.

CAST - The cast did a great job portraying their characters. The whole family, her love interest, and especially the lead actress (Erika Sawajiri) did a great job.

MUSIC - The music was perfect for this kind of melodrama, I personally liked Konayuki by Remioromen. Once you hear that song you'd automatically think about Aya and Asou.

Overall, this is by far the saddest drama I've ever sat through, and I meant that in a good way. I highly recommend this drama, which the majority who has seen it dubbed as a "life-altering" drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
21
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-03 22:03:22 aznanimedude
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
aznanimedude Reviewed by aznanimedude    October 03, 2009
Last updated: January 14, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

My First Drama, still one of my favorites

What an amazing drama. Yes, that is how i am starting this review, because it really is that amazing. Very few dramas have been as powerful, as impactful, have left such a memory in your head as this one drama. It is the kind of drama that leaves you to look back and cherish life, it reminds you of the happiness of life, the little things. Not a single person that i have seen who has watched this drama left it without crying, left it unchanged, no effect on them whatsoever. The true measure of a drama, i believe, is not how good it is the first time, it's how good it is the second, the third, how many times can you watch it until you tire of it? How long will it take you to forget it, days, weeks, months later, will you still remember it? it's been 2 years since i saw it, i still remember everything about it, it still affects me. Listening to the music takes me away from this world, draws me into a trance, makes me close my eyes and picture scenes. The visuals that appear are haunting, the thoughts piercing.
If dramas were gems, this is a diamond, hard as a rock, brilliant in lustre, something highly sought after. If you watch this, and leave it without crying, if this drama has no effect on you, let me know, i want to talk to you and ask why. Such a drama is so beautiful, it is one of the few dramas that i belive had little to no faults, that honestly could not have been improved at all. The actors were so convincing they seemed eeringly real. The setting, the situation, the plot, this drama made it feel like you were there. The music was insanely but brilliantly composed, and perfectly timed, swelling and receding along with the scenes they accompanied. You truly are thrust into a world where you experience the full range of emotions, from the joy of acceptance, to the pits of despair and hopelessness, to the realization that you still have life, something to live for.
a must-see, you would be crazy not to watch this drama

edit: shameless plug for my drama blog which i never update but i recently got around to updating my review for it and rather than bore you with repeating it or copy pasting it from there, here's the link to it =D

http://aznanimedude.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/konayuki-snows-not-the-only-thing-that-falls-when-i-think-of-this-drama/

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-03 21:47:00 lmherxon24
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
10.0
lmherxon24 Reviewed by lmherxon24    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

My review for One Liter Of Tears

Story: The story was very touching. It was a life-changing story. The drama made me change my point of views.

Acting: Sawajiri Erika and Nishikido Ryo had a great tandem. Both of them did well on their roles. Also, the other casts was great.

Music: The songs from the drama were great.

Satisfaction: One of the dramas that made me cry. Her life was very inspirational. The best drama from Japan ever.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
1 Liter of Tears 2009-10-02 22:29:36 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Story 
 
10.0
Acting 
 
10.0
Music 
 
10.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Still Teary...

My very first Asian drama and it is still at the top of my list! Anyone who is new to Asian drama should definitely put 1 Litre on their list.

Exceptional acting, beautiful dialogues, and one of the most emotional stories out there. Highly recommended to all!

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
 

Search

Category:    Network:    
Release Date:    Episodes:    
Genres: Keywords:   

Newly Added

Operation Proposal
User rating
 
10.0 (1)
canada goose jackets animal cruelty
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

Bad Family
User rating
 
8.5 (2)
Kuitan
User rating
 
9.3 (1)
Last Friends
User rating
 
8.0 (3)
Scent of a Woman
User rating
 
7.8 (1)
Attic Cat
User rating
 
8.0 (1)