Most Popular

Latest Reviews

Fated To Love You
 
8.0
ToGetHer
 
8.8
Personal Taste
 
8.0
Lunch Queen
 
6.0
Answer Me 1997
 
9.0
Love Recipe
 
8.5
Liar Game
 
9.0
Scent of a Woman
 
7.8
Taisetsu na Koto wa Subete Kimi ga Oshiete Kureta
 
8.3
Orange Days
 
10.0

Latest News

Latest Forum Post

Forum offline
Dramas Japanese Doramas 2005 Hana Yori Dango
 

Hana Yori Dango Hana Yori Dango Hot

Hana Yori Dango
Network
Episodes
9
Directed by
Ishii Yasuharu, Yamamuro Daisuke, Katayama Osamu
Written by
Kamio Yoko, Satake Mikio, Fujimoto Yuki, Takahashi Natsuko, Arai Shuuko
Producer
Setoguchi Katsuaki
Cast
Inoue Mao, Matsumoto Jun, Oguri Shun, Matsuda Shota, Abe Tsuyoshi
Release Date
October 21, 2005

Makino Tsukushi is the only poor student at Eitoku Gakuen, the school of the ridiculously rich and privileged that is ruled by Flower 4 or F4, a group of four boys who come from extremely powerful families: Domyoji Tsukasa, the leader and heir of the Domyoji World Finance Group; Hanazawa Rui, the introverted son of a large company; Nishikado Sojiro, a player who is the heir of a tea ceremony school; and Mimasaka Akira, a madam killer with ties to the underground. If a student gets on the F4’s bad side, he/she gets a red notice and is bullied and driven out of school.

Makino hopes to pass her days quietly-- without drawing any attention to herself-- but one day, she stands up to Domyoji in defense of her friend. The next day, Makino gets the dreaded red notice. Even though she is harassed, Makino decides to keep going to school because she is a “tough weed”. She declares war right back on the F4. Her resolve gets the attention of her crush Hanazawa Rui and oddly enough, rouses romantic feelings in her worst enemy, Domyoji Tsukasa.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
6.9
Story 
 
7.0  (6)
Acting 
 
6.0  (6)
Music 
 
7.2  (6)
Satisfaction 
 
7.5  (6)
 
Hana Yori Dango 2011-05-13 02:19:29 BOGCHI
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
9.0
Music 
 
9.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
BOGCHI Reviewed by BOGCHI    May 13, 2011
Last updated: May 13, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Extra-vagant

Where do I start? Well I'll start with the most obvious quality of the drama... it was really expensive to make.
From the beginning on you'll see the expensive cars, clothes, mansions, and even expensive food being served. It was so nice to see how big the production company decided to spend on this teeny-bopper story of a drama.

Now for the story, I was a little familiar with it as I heard people talking about the Taiwanese version, Meteor Garden, and how sweet it was back then. It even spurred a Meteor Garden mania or F4 mania in some countries (ahem, Philippines). But I never was intrigued enough to check it out, until to this day I have not seen the Taiwanese version of Hana Yori Dango.
Hana Yori Dango starts out with the F4, introduced as the richest kids in the high school, being the biggest bullies in school (they were brute), and later Makino (female lead, played by Inoue Mao), who is poor but strong willed, becomes their next victim. Well of course she survives their bullying(she is the main lead after all), and later the leader of the F4 (Domyoji Tsukasa, played by Matsumoto Jun) falls in love with her. Basically, rich boy-poor girl love story.
Now doesn't that sound like such a formulaic plot that has been used over and over again? It really is, so I wonder why it keeps getting remade by different countries.. (there's a Taiwanese, Korean, and Japanese version of this story, AMAZING..)
The two main leads, with their very strong personality, just butt heads all the time.. which makes up a lot of the story and I found their "fights" very entertaining.
You really have to suspend disbelief for this drama as it is very over the top. We are talking about the richest people in Japan (or was it the world?), so nothing is ordinary. The execution of the drama was anime-like, which I appreciate as it adds a certain flavor to the drama.
It's a really fast-paced 9 episode dorama, which is why I like Japanese doramas, short and to the point.

Now on to the actors. Acting-wise, they were great. Inoue Mao was very cute, but some girls may be disappointed of the F4, look wise that is, but as a lot of girls has said "their performance" won them over.

Music, as the first conflict arose Otsuka Ai's "Planetrium" plays and all the emotions were expressed perfectly by the song. It's such a beautiful song. Now for the BG music, it sounded a little creepy, like Harry Potter-ish, mystery-esque theme music. It grows on you but still wondering on the choice of music.

Overall, it's a great drama. Expensive doesn't always mean quality, and some may not even consider this quality, but I liked how it turned out. It's very cutesy, not too serious of a drama that is probably geared towards teens, but heck I enjoyed almost every minute of it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Hana Yori Dango 2009-10-04 01:51:10 pedrokongo
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
9.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
pedrokongo Reviewed by pedrokongo    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Everything perfect except the ARASHI boy

I would have given an 8 for acting, but matsumoto makes me change my mind. How is it that his voice goes down 3 pitches when he's acting but in the op theme his voice is higher than everyone else. at least it didnt affect the overall experience that much. a lot of people said they like f4 of meteor garden better, but for me, hanazawa rui's actor and even akira in hana yori dango 2 made me satisfied and made up for a mediocre first season.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Hana Yori Dango 2009-10-04 00:51:38 Dramarater
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Story 
 
8.0
Acting 
 
8.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
Dramarater Reviewed by Dramarater    October 04, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Hana Yori Dango Review

This drama was pretty good, and I did finish it, which means it didn't bore me to death. >_<

Story: I really felt that the story was nothing special. It was a cute storyline, and I did enjoy what was going on, but it felt standard. It seemed to me like a classic boy-meets-girl type story, and there wasn't really an interesting twist to it. So, it got an eight in my books. Not bad, but not awesome.

Acting: I felt the actors were pretty good at their parts--some were better than others. The casting was pretty good, and I was content with everything.

Music: I liked some of the songs in this, but I felt that they played the same one too many times. In fact, one song was used in almost every episode, and I began to get tired of hearing it in every situation. But that's just me...

Satisfaction: I did enjoy this drama, and it was pretty cute. I've seen both seasons, and I can say that I was happy with it. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes romantic comedies. I've heard that people who like Hana Kimi will like Hana Yori Dango, but I personally don't see the connection between the two.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Hana Yori Dango 2009-10-03 23:10:32 auxabois
Overall rating 
 
5.5
Story 
 
5.0
Acting 
 
3.0
Music 
 
5.0
Satisfaction 
 
9.0
auxabois Reviewed by auxabois    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Stupid, but so so so funny and entertaining.

Ok. So with the scores of the story, acting, and music (which I really don't remember one way or the other) my satisfaction should be low, but the show was SO funny, all of the boys were so funny and "unique" I mean the character models are cookie cut, but there are so many, and they are all so very extreme and silly. The gay guy is REALLY gay, the pretty boy is REALLY pretty, the karate kids are REALLY into karate lol.

It is funny to see how often they make the girl dressed up like a boy dress up like a girl.

It is also really hilarious to see a guy fall in love with her, and worry he is gay because he doesn't know it is a girl. Ohhh that was my favorite part of the story, he was so funny and got himself into the worst situations.

I thought the serious parts of the story were the worst, but they tied in well with each other, and made a comprehensive story line as to why everything was going on how it was.

I would highly recommend this show, just like Rocky horror Picture show, or Napoleon Dynomite, or Moulin Rouge. Its dumb but it is great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11
Report this review
Hana Yori Dango 2009-10-03 22:56:22 Shun_Nee
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Story 
 
4.0
Acting 
 
2.0
Music 
 
5.0
Satisfaction 
 
3.0
Shun_Nee Reviewed by Shun_Nee    October 03, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Crap acting.

Story - I gave this a four, because while cliched and predictable, we all love a school drama. ^^

Acting - Omg. The acting was *so* bad. The so-called 'fight' scenes that they had when Tsukasa was beating someone up was just terrible. I mean, they were so fake, you'd think they were participating in the WWE pro wrestling. So bad, very bad....

Music - This was the only saving grace in this show. I liked the opening theme by Arashi, If I remember correctly? Good music. ^^

Satisfaction - I gave this a three, I had to. I just couldn't get past the bad fight scenes. Tsukasa is supposed to be this tough as nails rich kid, but they give the part to a pretty boy, who looks like he can't fight his way out of a wet paper bag.

Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
Hana Yori Dango 2009-10-02 21:37:35 bengalifob
Overall rating 
 
7.5
Story 
 
7.0
Acting 
 
7.0
Music 
 
8.0
Satisfaction 
 
8.0
bengalifob Reviewed by bengalifob    October 02, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Pretty Boys

Story:
Bunch of pretty boys being bad until they come across the girl that would change everything. Heard it before? Probably.

Acting:
The guys did a great job modeling, but acting wise they were all average.

Music:
Well done. I love the Otsuka Ai's song, "Planetarium"

Overall:
Meh. I don't why everyone loves this drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
 

Search

Category:    Network:    
Release Date:    Episodes:    
Genres: Keywords:   

Newly Added

canada goose jackets animal cruelty
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
ToGetHer
User rating
 
8.8 (1)
Answer Me 1997
User rating
 
9.0 (1)
Autumn's Concerto
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Dream High 2
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love Recipe
User rating
 
8.5 (1)
Love Keeps Going
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Sunny Happiness
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Office Girls
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Love You
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Ex-Boyfriend
User rating
 
0.0 (0)
Yong Shi Men
User rating
 
0.0 (0)

Check 'Em Out!

Nobuta wo Produce
User rating
 
8.8 (3)
Coffee Prince
User rating
 
8.6 (4)
Tantei Gakuen Q
User rating
 
9.6 (3)
Which Star Are You From
User rating
 
8.3 (1)
Yama Onna Kabe Onna
User rating
 
10.0 (1)